My Camera is Getting Surgery

Today I took my camera to the shop to get the scratch on the lens fixed, so I am without my baby until tomorrow 😦 So you will have to wait till tomorrow to get all caught up on my eats from last night and today!

I do have a few photos from my phone that I will share though 🙂

After breakfast I spent some time looking for plans for making a bed frame and I found one I love! I also found directions for a closet plan that would work perfectly for my bedroom closet. I can’t wait to get started on it all! Then I went out to the barn and had a great time with Vinnie. He lunged better today. I have made a few goals for Vinnie and his lunging. It is good to have something in mind so I can work on specifics to improve his lunging. He was so excited for his apple!Image When I first got to the barn this morning Mare and Ray were taking a snooze. At first I really thought Mare was dead because she was completely flat and wasn’t moving at all while Ray had his head up. Then she let out a big sigh and I was so relieved haha. Image

When I got home I fixed my snack and then I started working on organizing some of my papers. I decided to type up my bubbles to make it neater and then I put together a binder full of all of my notes and print outs from my sessions with Mary. I made a section for my bubbles, a section for my papers from Mary, and a section for recipes. I think it will be so convenient to have it all in one place. I also put together a folder for all of the information I have for courses at NC State. I also squeezed in some Netflix before lunch. After I ate my lunch I did dishes and then got ready to go to Durham. I picked my mom up so she could go buy some wine that we needed for tonight’s recipe. I dropped her back off at her school and then went to the camera shop. I figured it would be smart to get the lens taken care of before we go to Chattanooga because my sister and I will probably want to take loads of pictures. The man at the shop said he would have to replace the lens with a used one he had, but he said the used one is in excellent shape. He also suggested I get a filter to protect the lens and I think I am going to have to do that! The rest of my evening consisted of watching Netflix, eating my snack, and working on my bedroom. Now, I did take a picture of dinner on my phone. Get ready! Butternut squash and barley risotto. INCREDIBLE. The chicken that was cooked in the crock pot was alright… it ended up very dry. My barley risotto stole the show! Silly plate for a fancy food 😉Image Here’s the breakdown:

Butternut squash and barley risotto: in a large pot, over medium heat cook one chopped onion in 2 tablespoons unsalted butter until tender, or about 8 minutes. Add 1/2 cup white wine to the onions and cook until syrupy, about another 8 minutes. I then added 5 cups vegetable broth and 1 cup quick cooking barley. I turned the heat up to high and let it boil for about 10 minutes, give or take. Next I added the butternut squash. I used one container of the precut squash from Whole Foods, but you could chop your own I am sure. I let that boil/simmer for around 30 minutes, or until the squash was fully cooked. I ended up adding a cup of water to the mixture when there was about 10 minutes left. At the end mix in 1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese. Enjoy! (season with pepper and salt if you choose)

I think we will definitely be making that recipe again!

Tomorrow is going to be a really busy day, so I hope I sleep well tonight. I woke up so many times last night and I ended up giving up on sleep around 6 this morning 😦 I think I just have too much stuff on my mind. I need to work on clearing my mind and relaxing.

Are there any strategies you have that help you to clear your mind?