Stuck Day

Hellooo!

Last night’s snack

For my snack last night I had one of my creations. I made mini key lime pies using silken tofu! I wanted to do a little experimenting of my own with tofu desserts so I could have an idea of the flavor of something I can easily make for my client. Of course, my client can’t have this because of the acidity of the lime juice and the gluten in the crusts, but now I know that the other ingredients can make it so you don’t even know you are eating tofu! I wish the pictures were better, but with it being night and all the flash on my camera doesn’t do it justice. ImageImage

Mini key lime pies

  • 1 package lite silken tofu, drained
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/8 cup fresh key lime juice
  • 1/2 Tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • Keebler mini graham crusts (6)
  • Blend all ingredients in a blender until smooth and thick then pour into crusts and place in the freezer. Wait at least 2 hours and serve.

Stuck Day

This morning my mom came and woke me up to tell me that I wasn’t going to work today. The area was expected to get ice/freezing rain/snow starting around noon and she didn’t want me to drive old blue into Durham and then me stuck there. I was actually looking forward to going to work today, but my boss reassured me that it was ok. After laying in bed for a while I got up and began my day stuck at home. For breakfast I made a big bowl of oatmeal topped with pistachios and a variety of berries, a grape tomato, green pepper and feta scramble and a chai latte. Image

I went crazy in the kitchen. For some reason there were ants infiltrating the perimeter (reference to a movie, virtual high five if you can guess it!) so I went on an ant murdering rampage with 409. Then I did dishes, cleaned and then organized the pantry.ImageImageImageImage Once I finished with the kitchen I took to the couch to do some reading from Eating Mindfully. I read the entire section on mindfulness of the mind and learned some very good tips.

For lunch I made black bean and cheese chimis, carrots, a pear and greek yogurt. It was very yummy!Image After lunch I put a skim coat on a section of my wall. My dad was kind enough to stop on his way home from work to get me the supplies I needed. Once I applied it the waiting began. It turns white when it is dry. A few hours later and it is almost ready to be sanded! I worked on sanding my other three walls to get rid of the unevenness from spackle and from old paint drips. It felt good to finally get started on my walls!ImageSee the two lines?Image

I relaxed a little on the couch with my mom, searching on Pinterest for color ideas for my room. Then I got started on my vision board! I think it will be a continuous process of making additions to it. Image

For my snack I had an almond butter sandwich and then spent the rest of the evening relaxing.Image For dinner my mom made turkey burgers, sweet potato fries and peppers and onions. It was yummy, and it all came from the freezer! Image

I would say that is has been a very productive day! Much better than my other days when I have been stuck at home due to weather! Tomorrow I plan to finish sanding my walls and I wouldn’t mind getting it primed! That might be far fetched considering I have my appointments with Mary and Lori, but I can try can’t I?

Hope you had a great Monday 🙂