I’m still here, I promise!

Hi friends!

Gosh, it feels like a year has gone by since I’ve had time to drop in. There is so much to update you on!

I’ll start with the obvious: school. It sucks up all my time, but I suppose that is always expected. I had my first calculus exam on Thursday and then this next week is going to be the week from hell because I have 4 exams. So all I ever do is study. Forget having a social life. I don’t even know what having a social life is. I don’t know what sleep is either. So it sounds like I’m just complaining so let me end this paragraph by saying despite all the stress and lack of free time, I am still enjoying being a student again!

The Bull’s season is officially over. We played up until game 5 of the last round of playoffs, so we were so close to making it back to the National Championship game! Now that I don’t have to work as much (I might still work every now and then if I’m needed) I can use tha time to study more! Yippee! That’s not true, I use that time to go see Vinnie. And Madelyne’s horse, Saint, is down here now which is super exciting! Of course Vinnie is a jerk to him, but still it’s great to have Saint there because it increases the chances that I get to see Madelyne! Both of our lives are crazy busy so I rarely get to see her. 1

My half marathon training has been going well! During the week I try and utilize my beginning jogging class as much as possible so that I don’t have to spend that much extra time running. So I will just stay on the track after to finish my runs on Tuesdays and Thursdays. I have been swimming at the Y on Saturdays as my cross training because I have fallen in love with it. My long runs on Sundays have actually been happening early Monday mornings at the Y… I need to change that because soon since i won’t have enough time to fit it in on Mondays due to the runs getting longer! I also have a really bad shin splint in my right leg. It hurts all the time. So I have been trying to ice it a lot.

2 3

Some big news: I turned twenty one on Tuesday! I didn’t do anything special. I had class all day and then cooked dinner for my parents and I. I made tostadas which were delicious. Thursday night I ended up going to this place called City Beverage, which was totally awesome and I am definitely going back, with Bryan, Casey, and Justin (her husband). It was a lot of fun and it was a good way to relax after having my calculus test earlier that day! I ordered a Sea Dog Wild Blueberry beer and it was delicious. But… I didn’t get carded! What in the world, right!?

My meals have been really repetitive. I have overnight oatmeal pretty much every morning for breakfast. For lunch I typically have a turkey sandwich or chicken salad and pretzels, usually with an apple and carrots. My snacks are usually Greek yogurt and a KIND bar. Then for dinner it varies a little, but most nights it’s meat, roasted veggies and then I have a potato. We have been trying to add more variety by getting back to meal planning though! About a week and a half ago my parents went up to PA to help out my grandma, Baba, since she had a procedure done on one of her eyes, and while they were gone I got a little creative for my lunch and dinner one day. I used leftover pork tenderloin and made Asian pork and broccoli! So good! I had it for lunch and dinner that day, just because it was convenient for taking to work. And maybe also because it was just that darn good! So I knew in advance I would want to share this recipe so here it is friends! Apologies in advance for lack of quality of the pictures- lighting wasn’t the best. And I don’t have fancy plating to display the final product haha.

Simple Asian Pork and Broccoli 

Over medium high heat, add sesame oil to a large skillet. Once warmed, add the garlic, ground ginger and the red pepper flakes.

IMG_3549 IMG_3553

Once the garlic is heated through and all the flavors look pretty well blended, add the leftover pork tenderloin to the skillet. Of course, you could add uncooked or leftover meat of any kind, such as chicken or beef. I’ve used my recipe for this before with chicken and it was delicious! Add about half of the sauce mixture to the skillet along with the pork. Let this cook down a little, until the meat is warmed through.

IMG_3555

Next, throw in all of your veggies and give them a stir. Pour in the remainder of the sauce and stir again.

IMG_3556

Cover with a lid and let the steaming action work its magic.

IMG_3557

Stir occasionally and cook until the veggies are at your desired tenderness!

IMG_3558

Serve over rice or quinoa. I went with quinoa this time since it cooks faster! Makes two kick-ass servings.

Ingredients:

  • 45g carrots, thinly sliced lengthwise (about half a serving/small handful)
  • 3 servings of broccoli (it is called pork and broccoli after all)
  • 1 tablespoon chopped garlic
  • 70g onion, chopped/sliced/diced/carved into a scary face
  • 6oz leftover pork tenderloin, sliced into thin pieces (mine was grilled and then I trimmed the crispy edges off-but you might want to keep em’)
  • dash of ground ginger
  • few shakes of red pepper flakes (shake n’ flake. Yeah? Anybody?)

For the sauce:

  • 1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce (still more than enough sodium)
  • 1/2 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch

Whisk this sauce like crazy! Get that cornstarch mixed in there.

So that’s it for this update! I am off to make my breakfast before I go to the barn with Madelyne. I am in for a busy day today! Maybe I will stop in tomorrow to post about my Saturday because I am sure I will need a break from studying, but I know I am not reliable so no promises haha!

Leave a Reply

