Challenge: LaPlace

Hello, hello! I figured I would drop in quickly before I kick start my all day study session.

Yesterday I had to work at the Bulls from 9-5 because it was Fan Fest for the All Star Game. Tons of people came to the park to take tours and do batting practice. We weren’t super busy in the store but we did a decent amount of business. After work I came home and was shocked by how much work my parents did around the house. My mom fixed up my bedroom and the guest bedroom and they look incredible now! My dad worked on the front porch and got a lot done as well. So to thank them I drove them out to dinner. It was my choice, but you know me, I can’t make a decision to save my life. We let the flip of a coin decided if we were going to go in to Durham or Hillsborough. The coin decided on Hillsborough. I was glad that the coin decided Hillsborough. There aren’t any chain restaurants in the downtown area, meaning I can’t look up the nutritional data of the food so I can make a safe choice. Before we left the house my dad mentioned going to Brier Creek so we could go to Dicks Sporting Goods and then we could just go to dinner somewhere over there. I knew there was an Applebee’s over there so I looked at the menu online and then looked at the nutritional content to make sure what I wanted was acceptable. In doing that I realized that I am only concerned about one thing when eating out. I was only looking at the amount of fat in each dish. I didn’t care about the amount of protein or carbs that were in a certain meal. So I found that very interesting. So I was glad that we went to Hillsborough. It was a true challenge and I tried hard not to let myself worry about the nutritional value of the food!

Once we got to Hillsborough (they have the cutest downtown, FYI) we walked around a little to explore the options. Again, it was totally up to me where we went. I narrowed it down to two places and then deiced on LaPlace because it would be something completely new and different for all of us. It was also going to be a reallyyy good challenge for me! I decided to order something on the menu that actually sounded really good to me. But let me back up a minute. This place was freaking adorable.1

2 To start we had boudin balls (I think that’s what they were called?) made with rice, pork and andouille and then fried. They were served with a spicy mustard and pickled onions and HOLY BOUDIN BALLS they were good.4 My mom ordered a new beer and she raved about it, so if you are a beer drinker, try this:3
For my entree I ordered crawfish etouffee. I remember Mary telling me about crawfish etouffee from her trip to New Orleans, so I decided to give it a try! Plus I was really in the mood for shrimp, and crawfish was close enough! I was in heaven… crawfish etouffee is pure deliciousness.5 It was so filling and satisfying. I succeeded in not ruling out certain things on the menu and I ordered something I really wanted to try! Yippee!
We had such a fun time at this restaurant. If that is what food is like in Louisiana I wouldn’t mind taking a trip there haha! It seemed to be very authentic: they made all of their sausages and they had a good variety! We decided we would go back there.

This morning I tried to sleep in a little but was rather unsuccessful. I migrated out to the living room and just relaxed and did the crossword puzzle until my mom was awake. Then we got ready and went outside for a run! We both worked up a good sweat. I went 4 miles and I think my mom went about 2.6. I am so proud of her! Close to the end I jogged beside her for a little bit to give her support, but I don’t think she needed it! 6

After our run we came inside and I made myself a quick breakfast. I made a pico egg and spinach bagel-wich with a side of berries and a chai latte. Yum! IMG_3518

Well, I guess I have put off studying long enough… I figured I would reward myself this evening with a break from studying so I can go see Vinnie! Hope you are having a wonderful weekend! Enjoy the rest of it 🙂

Leave a Reply

