Week 1: Completed

This week has been a crazy one. Getting used to the schedule of summer class and work hasn’t been all that difficult, but finding time to do everything else I want to do is next to impossible! I am so thankful to have this weekend off!

So I am still absolutely in love with UNC and the class I am taking there. I find the material covered in biology to be very interesting, so that definitely helps to keep me sane. Since it is a summer class there is just a lot that has to be crammed into a short amount of time. It has been a little stressful, but I think I am handling it well. I had my first test yesterday and I am actually really nervous to get the results back. I really strive to excel in everything I do so of course my grade is going to be on my mind. I know, it is worrying for no reason. There is nothing I can do about it now so why be concerned? I just want to do well! I’m sure that’s all normal though. The lab is also enjoyable, there is just a decent amount of work that comes with it. The adviser wasn’t lying when she said this lecture + lab was going to feel like a full time job! I feel like I ran out of time to study for everything I needed to study for before my test haha.

The people in my class are so nice and I adore the professor. It is so nice to have people to have lunch with between lecture and lab! It was actually kind of nice – Thursday, my friend Erica and I took a break from studying before lab to go to the student union to watch some of the USA vs Germany soccer game and eat our lunches. The student union was packed! We ended up sitting on the floor by the tv (so many others were on the floor too) because all the seating was occupied. I just am so happy that I am feeling comfortable there šŸ™‚

Between class and work this week I feel like I didn’t really get to do much else. There was zero time for the barn, except for yesterday after my test. The farrier was out so I decided to ride before it was Vinnie’s turn. Vinnie was in a weird mood. I can’t explain it any other way expect to say he was speedy and not really listening to his full potential. I ended up working him kinda hard, so when I was walking him out and then scooping poop from the arena he kept trying to lay down and roll in the sand. He was really sweaty!13 I thought it was beautiful outside but then at the end of my ride I started to hear thunder. Shortly after I made it back down to the barn it started to pour!Ā 14

There were a few days where I managed to squeeze in a little workout at the Y before going to work. I ran one day and then targeted back and abs another day.Ā 5

I also had my appointment with Mary on Wednesday and that went really well. We actually ended up talking about school and ways to make sure I am not listening to what others might have to say about their diets or nutrition. She gave me good advice on way to start thinking like a nutritionist! I will have another appointment with her in two weeks.

Let’s see… I’m trying to think of what else there is to share… Oh right, my parents left for Baltimore on Thursday. They have tickets to a few Orioles games. I am beyond sad that I am not with them right now. I loved Baltimore so much when I went there last summer and I wish I could be with them right now because I know they are having the time of their lives. Sometimes summer school happens though. What can you do?

This next week is going to be another jam packed one. Filled to the brim with lecture, lab, assignments and studying. I am going to try and squeeze every drop of relaxation and joy out of this weekend! I will be sure to check back in tomorrow before week 2 begins!

Random photos of some of my eats:1 2 3 4 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 15 16

Lots of banana bread, chicken salad or turkey sandwiches, and pork tenderloin with quinoa and veggies! This last picture: pork tenderloin and quinoa with pesto… so good!

Leave a Reply

