What are you trying to be mindful of?

Another long day is in the books. I guess it wasn’t really that long, it just felt like it was never ending. 

I was up bright and early to head to the Y this morning before going in to work. On the way I ate a bagel with cinnamon cream cheese.Image At the Y I ran on the treadmill for a total of 30 minutes followed by a 5 minute cool down. I was so happy that I managed to hit 3.52 miles in 30 minutes! It was a really good cardio workout. After my time on the treadmill was up I did some stretching before doing a few planks. I was dripping sweat!Image

I quickly got showered and headed across the street to the ballpark. There was a 1 o’clock game today so I spent the morning helping with online orders before prepping the store for the game. I had a late morning snack of berries, green pepper and cheese.Image 

I was on the register for pretty much the entire game, which was fine with me. On my break I had an apple, carrots with guac and pretzels with chicken salad.Image I felt like I was eating so fast so that I could finish it all during my break. I really hate eating that quickly, but I guess I didn’t pack food that was good for a quick, but dense, meal. I still thought it was delicious, despite stuffing my face. We ended up doing a little more business in the store than we were predicting so I was pretty happy about that. After the game my boss left me by myself to close up the store and do the deposit so he could make it to his sons’ games. So once I got everything taken care of I headed home! On the way I had my snack of blueberry greek yogurt and a Kashi bar.Image

When I got home I was absolutely drained. I kind of sat around for a bit before Madelyne and I went out to the driveway and played with the volleyball. When we came back in we waited until dinner was ready. We had smothered chicken, baked potatoes and grilled zucchini. It was pretty tasty.Image

One of my tasks/goals Mary gave me yesterday was to keep track of my protein intake. Since she said it seemed like I was falling short on my proteins for the average day, she wanted me to record the amount of protein I have been eating. Today I tried to be mindful of how much protein I was getting in my diet. It was kind of difficult to come up with ways to make sure I was filling up my bubbles, what with waking up early to go to the gym and then work. Maybe each day I can think of more ways to add/maintain protein? Just something for me to be mindful about 🙂 

I felt like I wasn’t in a “happy-go-lucky” mood today. I think my social life just isn’t exactly where I want it to be, but I know all I have to do is change my way of thinking and it will morph into the social life I want it to be! I’ve just got to keep up with the life-long challenge/goal/task of not being hard on myself. 

Well, now that I’ve filled you in, I am off to relax!

2 thoughts on “What are you trying to be mindful of?

  1. Hi, always a pleasure to read your posts! 🙂 I LOVE mixing veggies with fruits, and I’ve NEVER thought of bell pepper, berries, and cheese. That sounds fantastic.

    Gosh, protein is super tricky. Would it be “cheating” to just do a whey protein drink after your run alongside all your regular food? I think the most protein-rich meal I ever had was chicken in a cheese sauce, with a side of soy beans cooked with pumpkin seeds. EVERYTHING had protein, and it was delicious.

    • Hmm, I guess that wouldn’t be cheating! Protein is protein, right?
      That meal sounds delicious! I might have to try recreating something similar to it in the near future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

