I’m sold

Good morning, all!

I had a fabulous Monday. I know what you are thinking: that sentence shouldn’t even exist. Everyone dreads Mondays, but when you get the day off incredible things can happen!

So after typing up my post yesterday I did the crossword puzzle before fixing myself banana bread and a green smoothie for breakfast. Oh how I missed my green smoothies!IMG_3066
I was bummed when I checked my email and saw that my advising appointment at UNC was canceled because the advisor was out with an illness. So I rescheduled and made an appointment for the first time available, which is next Monday. So because I didn’t have to go to Chapel Hill in the morning I took one of my books and hit the porch swing for a bit of time. It was so relaxing! I eventually headed inside to start getting ready to go into Durham. I stopped at the bank on my way to Whole Foods to grab lunch for my mom and I. We ended up eating our lunches on a shaded bench outside her school. It was beautiful out!1 2
I basically talked her ear off about new developments in my life, AKA boy drama hahaha. It’s not really drama though. Before leaving the shaded bench I prepped a little work for my appointment with Mary.
My time with Mary flew by! We talked a lot about general things and how my week went. I always like how Mary will use other real life examples to explain certain difficulties that others might face. It sometimes is like I am getting a mini lesson of something I might learn at UNC. So of course I love it! Then we dove into doing the Quick Quiz activity in The Tao of Eating book that she lent me. The quiz is designed to analyze how much you are still letting thoughts about food dictate your thoughts or actions. Going through the question I had to quickly right down a yes or no and then we added up the yeses to see where I scored. I originally scored rather high, meaning I was still very consumed by “diet” rules or thoughts, but then after discussing each one (because the majority of my answers were more of a “kind of” than a yes or no) we concluded that I am only moderately driven by some of those remaining thoughts. Then I told her exactly that, they are all thoughts and my actions don’t reflect them. As we discussed each question and my response I wrote down long term goals, so now I know of a bunch of things that I can still work on! It was a great session and we covered a lot of ground!
Once I got home I relaxed for a bit before fixing my snack of pretzels and guacamole. I hadn’t had guac in a while so I was super happy!IMG_3067
Then I got a text from Renee saying she would be home at 7 and she asked if I wanted to ride Ray. I jumped on the opportunity! So I got changed and headed out there. I groomed Vinnie and gave him an apple (he got the day off from work too haha) before Renee and I headed up to the arena with Ray! She rode him first so that she could give me a visual of all of the cues she uses with him. Then it was my turn to hop up in the saddle! I had a great time and I absolutely loved riding him! That was the verse time I think I have ever seriously ridden western. He really wasn’t a challenging horse to ride. Yes, it still required a lot of work, but it was so enjoyable! Renee was so happy that I rode him and that I thought he was a great horse. I made plans to ride him again this morning before I go to work, so after I fix my breakfast it is going to be a morning full of horses!
When I got home last night my parents had dinner ready. We had chicken sausage, peppers and onions, and then I heated up leftover rice. It was simple and delicious!IMG_3068
I relaxed the rest of the night and before bed I had a quick snack of an apple and trail mix.3

Well alrighty, I am off to have another fabulous day, starting with this yummy breakfast!IMG_3069 I hope you all have a day that is equally (if not more 😉 ) amazing!

2 thoughts on “I’m sold

  1. You sound so amazing it is awesome that you positively face Monday! I will have to adopt your attitude for my last, two Mondays of the school year! You are handling disappointment in stride, way to be. Enjoy your time with the horses and don’t work too hard at the ballpark! BTW I was homesick for Durham so I watched Bull Durham on Mother’s Day night! Love u

Leave a Reply

