I am bad at celebrating Mother’s Day…

Good morning, friends! How are you on this gorgeous Monday? I woke up in a great mood this morning so I can’t wait to take on the day with this feeling of positivity! Perhaps the great day I had yesterday has me walking on sunshine this morning ๐Ÿ™‚

How I spent Mother’s Day

So first of all, I am an awful daughter because I didn’t get my mom anything special for Mother’s Day. I could be cheesy and sayย but every day is Mother’s Day! Mothers should be treated special EVERY day of the year!ย which is totally true, but still I think the notion of having one special day dedicated to mothers is nice. But back to why I am an awful daughter. I didn’t get my mom a card or flowers or anything. I feel like the “holiday” completely snuck up on me. In my mind I thought i would do something really heartfelt and make her something special, but I never got around to being crafty. We ate breakfast together and then we did a few chores around the house before we went to the Al Buehler trail at Duke to do a little exercise.Imageย Add this to the list of reason’s why I am a bad daughter: I made my mom jog! Ok, so I guess that’s not a bad thing, but I felt bad pushing her so hard on Mother’s Day. Maybe she appreciated it. She hasn’t jogged that much in YEARS so she was huffing and puffing. She said something about not wanting to have a heart attack on mom’s day so maybe that is why I felt bad about it haha. She did really good though and it is definitely something she needs to be super proud of! We did 5 minute increments of jogging and walking for 35 minutes and then she said she needed to walk the rest of the time. I was proud of her. I had fun doing it as well. I wasn’t winded at all so I enjoyed giving her words of encouragement all throughout the jogging intervals.ย Image

After our time on the trail we went to Costco and Harris Teeter before going back home for lunch. At Costco I got these little chicken salad cups to try so I made a chicken salad bagel-wich. I had an apple, some carrots and half a pepper and a cheese stick as well.Image Then I threw on my bathing suit and headed outside to wash the Jeep and Old Blue. I wanted to wash and vacuum my car so I figured it would be a nice little gift for my mom to do her Jeep as well ๐Ÿ™‚ So I cleaned my mom’s car and almost gave her a heart attack from jogging… all in celebration to her! ๐Ÿ™‚

Once I finished up the cars I got changed and grabbed a Kind bar to have for my snack on the way out to the barn.Image I had a great time with Vinnie! It was still really hot out so I only did a light ride. He was so good though ๐Ÿ™‚ He alsoย loved the new treats my mom got for him. And he got to go out on the front pasture with the other horses so he was just as happy as could be!Image

When I got home I chatted with my parents for a few minutes before I jumped in a cold shower. Yes, a cold shower. My shoulders and back are very badly sunburned from this weekend’s activities so the cold water felt so nice on my burning skin. After my shower I helped my mom do a quick clean up before my neighbor friend came over. We all talked for a bit before I fixed my dinner plate. My parents made pork chops, roasted veggies and rice.Image Evan already ate dinner so I just took my plate out to the couch and we watched a little TV and chatted before we finished watching The Dark Knight Rises. So I felt bad again for not spending the entire night with my mom, but I don’t think she minded. (If you did mind, Mom, then I will make it up to you!) I had a great time though! After Evan left to walk back to his house I fixed a snack and then worked on a sudoku puzzle before heading off to bed.Image

It was such a full day!

Today’s Plans

So after I have my breakfast I am going to get ready for my advising appointment at UNC. I am so excited for it! I can’t wait to get my classes sorted out and develop a good plan. After that I am going to bring my mom lunch at her school and then I have my appointment with Mary. Then this evening I will more than likely go to the barn. Bring on the day, world. Bring. It. On. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

Leave a Reply

