Hitting Refresh

Today was a nice, low key day. It was a perfect way to hit the refresh button for my system. I had an easy going morning, which I started by working on the crossword puzzle before fixing my breakfast.Image

After breakfast I decided to do a few small chores so I did laundry, dishes and a quick clean up of the kitchen.

Then I got ready for my appointment with Mary! It was a great session. I told her all about the past couple of days and how I overcame the challenges I faced. I filled her in on the events of Thursday: my trip to UNC to meet up with a friend, dinner (burgers) with the guys and the bonfire. I told her about puppy sitting and the race I had on Saturday. It was nice to reflect on some of the events of the weekend because I also realized a few things that I didn’t notice before. For example, I noticed I have gotten better at eating at a normal pace, or even at a quicker pace if I am short on time. My exampled were Sunday morning when I had to quickly eat breakfast before going over to Evan’s to watch a movie before work, when I was at work and I had a large snack that I had to squeeze in during a short break and when I would eat lunch at work. I wasn’t upset that I couldn’t savor each bite and take my time because I was actually busy living my life! We then talked about a few things that still are a concern/worry. I admit that eating out is still a little difficult and then just being conscious about the amount of fat or protein in a meal. I’m not sure why protein is a little challenging but Mary reassured me that there is no reason for me to worry about getting too much. She gave me a few suggestions about possibly having vegetarian meals for breakfast and lunches when we are planning on having a large portion of meat for dinner. So we had a good conversation about that and then set up some good goals for me!

After my appointment with Mary I went to Whole Foods and picked up lunch for my mom and I. I built my mom a salad and then picked out a sandwich, veggies, fruit and a yogurt for myself. Image

After lunch I headed home and got ready for the barn. I managed to get a quick lunge in with Vinnie in between periods of light rain. I think he really enjoyed his grooming as well! I missed him this past weekend so I was glad that I spent some time with him today.ImageImage

After the barn I hit the couch and had some major relaxation time. For my snack I had a kashi bar and trail mix. Image

We just finished our dinner of leftover chicken, veggies and potatoes.Image It was yummy! Anndddd the Penguins won!!! Yippee! On to Round 2 of the playoffs!

I am going to have my snack and hit the bed early since I have to be at work at 8:30 in the morning! I hope you had a wonderful day!

4 thoughts on “Hitting Refresh

  1. As I read ur blog I have noticed such a happiness in ur voice! Yippee, keep up the good work, and I am glad you got to breathe a little!

  2. As I read your updates about your work with Mary I have to say it sounds like it’s going great, congratulations!!! Isn’t so freeing to overcome challenges? I give you so much credit for having such incredible strength. It’s also awesome you are able to recognize the obstacles that still lie ahead and strategizing how to face those as well.

    Glad you had fun with Vinnie. Horses make everything better 🙂 And just think of him each time you’re faced with a new challenge. He loves you unconditionally and although he doesn’t think about what you’ve eaten he knows when you’re fueling yourself properly and when you aren’t. But he also knows not just when you’re getting proper nutrition or not but when you’re not fighting off those unhelpful thoughts broadening your options. He enjoys spending time with the happy, energetic, present, and strong Beth. When you limit your intake and options your energy and strength decrease from lack of nutrition and you become less present because unhelpful thoughts are taking your attention away. I personally love using my love for horses as motivation when I can’t do it for myself.

    • Thank you so much! I absolutely love that strategy. I really believe that animals are more aware of the emotions of those around them. Horses just have a keen sense of their handler’s feelings and I can often tell when Vinnie might be picking up on the vibes I am putting out. So I will definitely continue to use him as part of my motivation! I think it is wonderful that you have a similar connection to horses as well. You really do have to be well nourished to keep up with them, so I am glad that you utilize your love for them when other techniques aren’t working! 🙂

Leave a Reply

