I Couldn’t Have Asked for a Better Day :)

Yesterday was an incredible day. I felt so at ease and in the moment throughout the day and it felt like I was living my life free of many of the things that constantly occupy my mind. 

For breakfast I made a red pepper and broccoli scramble, oatmeal topped with blackberries and mixed nuts, and a chai latte.Image I worked on fixing pictures for the Bulls online store and then I was off to get ready to go to Chapel Hill.Image I met my friend, Adam, for a little jogging tour of Carolina’s campus and then we had lunch at one of the cafeterias. The campus was GORGEOUS. It helped that it was a beautiful day, but there wasn’t one thing that I didn’t like. After jogging through/around the campus I feel much more comfortable with it. It wasn’t as expansive and overwhelming as I imagined so that was a relief. I wish I took pictures, but I was busy trying to take it all in! For lunch I might have been predictable and had a turkey sandwich, veggies and fruit.Image But you know, I just had to test out the quality of one of my staples while I was there haha! I had an amazing time and I think I can officially say I will be attending in the Fall! 

I did a few errands on my way home before I continued to work on the photos for the online store. Then I might have taken a nap haha. I cleaned and prepped for guests to come over, taking a break for a Kashi bar for my snack.Image Josh and Justin came over and they grilled burgers while I cooked the sides. It was funny, the burgers kind of turned out to be giant meatballs, but I still thought they were good! They also were 73% lean 27% fat, which I didn’t even know existed, but I didn’t let that stop me from living in the moment and enjoying the fabulous meal we all created for each other!  I made honey roasted carrots and potato wedges as the sides.Image I thought it was delicious! I hope they did too! After we did a quick clean up in the kitchen we headed outside and worked on getting the bonfire rolling. It took us a while, but eventually it was alive and kicking! It didn’t stay big for long, but we managed to keep it going.Image My neighbor/friend, Evan (who I haven’t talked to in maybe a year), joined us with his friend, Sam. I had a really nice time, just sitting around the fire and having entertaining conversation with all the guys. It felt totally natural and I felt like it was a huge accomplishment to have that many people around and still be social and comfortable. Justin and Josh left maybe around 11 and Evan and Sam stayed till after midnight, which was when the fire died. Again, I couldn’t have asked for a better night. I had so much fun and I can’t wait to do it again. Part of me is worried that everyone else didn’t have as much fun as I did, but that is a normal feeling for a hostess to have, right? 

When I came inside I fixed a little almond butter sandwich and ate it with an apple before I went to bed. I slept so well! I woke up a few times, but I slept in till 9:15! That felt great to rest up. For breakfast this morning I fixed another bowl of oatmeal topped with blackberries, a scramble with broccoli, onions and hot sauce, and a chai latte. Mmm, mmm, mmmm.Image Now I need to go get ready for a big day! I need to go back to Chapel Hill to pick up my race packet for tomorrow’s race, I am going to the barn, and then this afternoon I begin my weekend of puppy/house sitting! I hope you have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

