Wahhh :( Why did today have to come? (& Pork Stuffed Acorn Squash)

I was kind of dreading today… The weather was returning to yucky cold rain and we had to say our goodbyes to Madelyne and Matt. We won’t see them again till sometime in the summer so it was kind of depressing. I always have so much fun with them, even if we are doing everything I do on a daily basis, they make it more exciting. Wahhh! At least I will have people at work to keep me entertained.

We had a late start to breakfast this morning. I still made a good portion though: double oatmeal + banana and blueberries, egg with spinach and red peppers, and a chai latte. Image

Before I knew it we were getting ready to go into Durham for lunch before we said our goodbyes. We went to Bull City Burgers and Brewery which is right across the street from Monut’s. I love the atmosphere of ALL of these local downtown restaurants. So cool.ImageImage Since I was still pretty full from breakfast I just ordered the vegetarian white chili. It was so spicy, which is just the way I like it! I loved it and would absolutely get it again.Image

After lunch we went our separate ways, Maddie and Matt back to PA and my mom and I off to run errands. That morning we made a list of groceries based on sales and planned our dinners for the week. So we went to Harris Teeter and Costco, then went to Staples to get some things for my dad’s office. We also stopped at Food Lion to get my dad cottage cheese since he claims H.T.’s tastes different and not as good haha. Oh, by the way, my dad is doing AWESOME! He is just a few pounds away from reaching his goal. He just had a check up and his blood levels are wayyyy down which is a good thing! The doctor said he could even stop taking his blood pressure medicine completely! He is going to wait till after tax season to do that though. The doctor said in the 14 years he has been practicing, my dad was the fifth person he has ever seen who has had made such a huge change for the better. That makes me so happy!

When I got home I crashed. The rain had me feeling lazy so I hit the couch and snuggled with my cat as I watched TV. It felt nice to relax and do nothing. When 5 o’clock rolled around I fixed my snack. I made a berry (strawberry, blackberry, blueberry) smoothie that I had with greek yogurt, pretzels and trail mix.Image I like my green smoothie much better. I felt kind of gross after eating that big of a snack, but I thought of my values and pulled myself back over from the dark side haha.

My mom and I worked on dinner together. She was in charge of the side dish of veggies and I worked on the main dish.ImageImage I made pork stuffed acorn squash and it was heavenly!

Pork Stuffed Acorn Squash

  • 2 acorn squash, halved and deseeded
  • 1 lb ground pork
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon curry powder
  • 2 dashed cinnamon
  • dash of salt
  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 slices bread, cut into cubes

Roast the squash at 350 for 50 minutes. In a skillet, cook the pork, celery and onions.ImageWhen browned/tender drain the fat and add the seasonings. Cook another minute and then add the applesauce and bread cubes. Mix together and then spoon into squash and bake an additional 20 minutes.Image Eat up! Image

This upcoming week is going to be very very busy, but I hope it is a good one!

2 thoughts on “Wahhh :( Why did today have to come? (& Pork Stuffed Acorn Squash)

  1. Hey congrats to Todd that is fantastic!!! Keep up the hard work. and thanks for the acorn squash recipe I love acorn squash and have discovered butter nut squash recently too…and finally the Duke Garden pictures I can’t wait to get back down there too…and while you are all in shorts today I wake up to another half inch of snow and a balmy 27 degrees!

Leave a Reply

