The Gift of a Beautiful Day

I couldn’t believe how beautiful today was! I wish every single day could be exactly like that. Perfect temperature, not a cloud in the sky, slight breeze. Magnificent. I started off the beautiful day by relaxing before I got up to fix my breakfast. I had a big bowl of oatmeal with berries and a red pepper scramble.Image Once we all finished our breakfasts we got ready to go to the Y at Lakewood. Madelyne and I took a Flow Yoga class that was an hour and a half. Matt and my mom kind of did their own thing. The class was a lot of fun! Definitely a challenge, but a good one. After we freshened up we headed to Whole Foods for lunch. I made another grilled veggie, hard boiled egg, quinoa salad that I had with fresh fruit, yogurt and a WhatsoNutso bar. Image

The next few hours were spent at Duke Gardens! It was the perfect day to walk around the gardens. Truly a gift. It was a bummer that the majority of the flowers weren’t in bloom, but there were a few that were in season! Get ready for a plethora of pictures!ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

We made a stop at Harris Teeter for a few random things before we came home. Right when we got back I quickly changed for the barn. I grabbed a Kind bar to have as a snack while I was out there.Image I had the best time with Vinnie. I gave him a good grooming since he is shedding and then I had the best ride ever 🙂 I worked a lot on my transitions up to and down from the canter. It was unbelievable how well he was listening to me! He even worked up a tiny sweat, making his post ride groom very enjoyable. He also appreciated the large amount of treats I gave him. I didn’t want to leave! I was having such a good time just enjoying the solo time with him. Image

As soon as I got home I started helping with dinner. I made a creamy pesto sauce with grape tomatoes and spinach that we served with spaghetti, chicken and roasted veggies. I thought it was very delicious!!!Image

I wish today didn’t have to end! I don’t want to say goodbye to my visitors tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

