Ice is the WORST

I’d say happy Friday but that would just not fit the bill. I woke up and got ready to go to the Y with my mom before going to work because our power was out from the ice we got over the night. Well apparently the weather had a different plan for us. We got down the road not even a mile and trees were falling down left and right. Roads were blocked and fire trucks were working to clear them. My mom made me turn around and go back to the house. I felt so bad because that is the second time this week that I haven’t been able to go to work because of the weather. I ate a banana and peanut butter sandwich for breakfast during the whole adventure out on the roads only to come back home a minute later. It felt like the only think I could do was read so I read while I finished my breakfast and then I went back to sleep and slept till 12:30! I didn’t go back to sleep till like 10, but still, I must have needed to catch up if I was able to fall back asleep! When I woke up I read more and then it was eventually lunch time. I really wanted something warm because our house was becoming very cold, but of course with no power I was forced to have a cold lunch. I made myself a ham and cheese sandwich that I ate with an apple, carrots and crackers.Image I decided I needed a break from reading and laying on the couch so I decided to wipe down my sanded walls and then I started priming! I got everything primed except for corners and around door/window frames and the baseboards. So I only have a little more to do. Once I finished priming for the day I had my snack while I read my book. I think today I was substituting reading for sudoku while I ate today… woops. My snack was really good though. I tried vanilla icelandic yogurt and it was delicious and super satisfying! I also had some trail mix.Image When my dad got home the power was still out so we decided to turn the RV on and run its generator for heat and electricity. Since it was going to take a while for it to heat up we went to Durham since the roads were cleared. On our way we saw so many trees that were down and one was hanging on a power line. Not okay! I want power back! The ice was pretty on the trees with the sun shining though.Image We went to Lowe’s looking for a space heater but they were sold out. My mom suggested Satisfaction’s for dinner. I ordered the pulled pork sandwich and steamed veggies. It was alright. Dinner was kind of hard for me tonight. I was having a hard time deciding what to have. Nothing sounded supper appetizing to me and I wasn’t feeling all that hungry. Plus I am meeting a friend for lunch tomorrow and I am still uncomfortable with eating out multiple times a week. I am getting better about it, but it is something that still causes me a little anxiety. If it doesn’t challenge you it doesn’t change you, right?When we got home the heat in the RV wasn’t working so we pulled out the old kerosene heater and set it up in the RV so now we can at least watch TV and plug in our electronics. I know, it is sad, we can’t function without our computers, internet and television. It is just the world we live in now. I am crossing my fingers that the power is back on tomorrow because I can’t take much more of this! Things are slowly warming up in here, but I need to go wrap myself up in a blanket and sit right in front of the heater!

One thought on “Ice is the WORST

Leave a Reply

