Florence Forth Recap and a Gorgeous Day at the Barn!

This morning I was up and moving by 6:30! I threw on some warm layers for the race and then prepared my breakfast. I went with a carb-heavy power breakfast: Two slices of banana bread topped with cinnamon cream cheese.Image We left the house around 7:15 and I ate my delicious breakfast on the way. We found parking easily since they had signs everywhere that made it a breeze. I made my way over to the starting line and my mom helped me find a few runners from her school for me to hang with.Image Right at 8 we were on our way! Around mile 1.5 I lost the others behind me so I just ran the remainder on my own. Well, technically I guess I wasn’t alone since there were so many others who were running! I’d like to think that the spirit of Florence was keeping us all company as we pushed ourselves through the course as well. So my first solo race wasn’t a solo race at all. I finished in 1:06:11 and I was thrilled because my goal was to finish in under an hour and ten minutes for my first 10k! The course seemed like it was ALL uphill haha! I had a lot of fun thought and got to meet a bunch of incredible people and I got to see a lot of others from my mom’s school.ImageImageImage Amber and baby Asher even made an appearance! Florence Forth raised over $40,000 to advance the mission of the Autoimmune Encephalitis Alliance. Isn’t that incredible?!

When we made it home I fixed a snack of apple slices, almonds and a chai latte. Yumm 🙂Image I played my daily puzzles and then helped my mom pick up the house a little before I jumped in the shower. I was thinking about running a few errands and maybe going to the outlets with my mom, but instead I decided I would go to the barn since it turned into a beautiful sunny day! I first fixed my lunch. I had mexican chicken soup, carrots and a greek yogurt with blueberries. Then I was off to the barn! Image

It was a wonderful day at the barn. I managed to convince my mom to go out there with me and I am so glad she did! We saw everyone out there and we got to chit chat with them all. Then I got to work on grooming Vinnie. I then tacked him up and did a light lunge before I jumped in the saddle! I had a great ride! He was such a good boy. A little speedy at the canter, but I can’t ask him to be perfect since my riding schedule is inconsistent. I just had so much fun 🙂 Image When I finished up with Vinnie, Renee asked me if I wanted to ride G and I said absolutely! I love G, he is giant compared to Vinnie and covers so much more ground. I am sure the workout I gave him was a little more relaxed than his normal ones, but I still had a blast! We spent 4+ hours out there and I can’t wait to go back tomorrow.

When I got home I had a crackers, cheese and the bottom of the trail mix bag for my snack.Image Then I relaxed for the rest of the evening up until it was dinner time. My mom made pork chops, brussels, cauliflower and baked potatoes.Image I have to tell you, I really prefer sweet potatoes. Russet potatoes are so much drier, even with sour cream. I guess it was a nice change up though. I think after my non-stop day of running and riding I am going to sleep really well tonight! I am going to go watch this Penguins game now! Goodnight!

4 thoughts on “Florence Forth Recap and a Gorgeous Day at the Barn!

  1. Congrats on finishing the race! I was there for a little while and didn’t see many Watts staff, but I did see several parents, Amber, and that sweet little baby. You didn’t have a literal cape on, but it sure is flyin’ in the wind now! Pat yourself on the back!

Leave a Reply

