Stairs = Double Whammy

Boy oh boy, today was a long but good day. I woke up early again and laid there wishing I could catch some more Z’s. Eventually I rolled out of bed and started my day with a hot shower. It took me a while to decide what to wear. With all my clothes fitting tighter I am uncomfortable wearing a lot of the shirts I have. But guess what? I didn’t let that stop me from getting in a good breakfast! I made a veggie scramble, a bowl of oatmeal topped with pistachios and then I had a banana and chai latte.Image

After breakfast I packed my lunch and was off to work at the Bulls! We got an insane amount of shirts tagged and added to the system. Lots of new styles this year! I enjoyed my day at work. It always feels good to get a lot done. For lunch I had a turkey sandwich, an apple, carrots and greek yogurt. I packed pretzels to have with it but I was pretty full after my yogurt.Image

After work I ate my pretzels on my way to Wallace Wade stadium at Duke where I was meeting Josh to run the stairs.Image It was a little chilly out, but that didn’t stop me. I was able to run up and down half of the aisles (which is the same as running down, across and up the entire way around). My legs were turning into jello. It was a really good physical workout, but I feel like it was a really good mental workout too. I’ll elaborate. Before I ran back up each set of stairs I paused to take a short breather. Getting myself to take the first step was the most difficult. I really had to push my mind to tell my body to go. I also had to use my mind to listen to my body. Using some of the exercises I learned from my sessions with Lori I was able to acknowledge any negative thoughts as a thought and then I reassured myself that I was good enough to do what I wanted – I just had to believe in myself. It was a nice change up. I wasn’t bored from looking at the same thing and I think it worked some muscles that don’t get a lot of use from normal running. On my way home I had a Kind bar for snack.Image

We had a relaxing evening and then we whipped up something quick for dinner. I cooked quinoa and added peppers, onions, microwave steamed green beans, cheddar cheese and chicken to it. I drizzled some buffalo sauce on top for an extra kick. It was actually quite tasty! Image

I can’t wait to see what tomorrow has in store for me!

5 thoughts on “Stairs = Double Whammy

  1. Love to hear that your strategies work for exercisede too, awesome job! Homer, Zoee and I jog up the ridge, steps are more intense. Way to go!

Leave a Reply

