Cooking Up a Storm

I have done so much today… I don’t know how I fit it all in. I had fun doing it though! I feel like I still have a lot to do so I am going to just going to take you guys through a quick summary of the last 24 hours.

E’s and A’s

Eats:

Last night I made apple egg rolls. Three simple ingredients, egg roll wrappers, apple, cinnamon. I had raspberry greek yogurt with it and sprinkled the left over apple stuffing over my creation.Image

For breakfast this morning I made a tea latte and a bowl of granola topped with banana, blueberries and walnuts.Image

For lunch I made another egg roll creation (I am trying to use them up!) that I had with carrots, clementines, crackers, trail mix and greek yogurt. I put turkey, mozzarella and strawberry jam on the inside of my egg rolls and it was fantabulous.ย Image

My snack was a sunflower butter sandwich.Image

For dinner my mom and I helped each other to make a recipe from the sugar free and gluten free cookbook that Mary let me borrow. We made a few adaptions (spaghetti instead of linguini and chicken instead of shrimp) to the spicy tomato linguini recipe. It was so delicious! My mouth was on fire though! I love spice.ย Image

Activities:

After breakfast this morning I got ready to go to church with Josh and Justin. I hadn’t been in probably a little over a year and before that it had been even longer. I feel uneducated when it comes to religion, and perhaps that is why I don’t go to church. I don’t like feeling “lost” when people are talking. It was Justin’s church that we went to and it was actually a pretty good service. I have awful memory so I have already forgotten much of the sermon, but I do know that I left feeling like I gained something from the experience. I think I would go back again. It could be a good way to help me find my identity.

When I got home from going to church with the guys I made my lunch and then got started on some extreme cooking! I made all of the main dishes for my client for the week. I literally worked in the kitchen the entire afternoon. Well, from 2:15 to 5:15. Check out what I made:

Curry chicken and veggie stew over riceImage

Turkey and feta meatballs with rosemary potato wedges and green beans mixed with red bell peppersImage

Chicken “pesto alfredo” pasta with spinach and red bell peppersImage

I sampled everything (sampling the food I made my client was one of my goals from my session with Mary) and it tasted so good! There were a few additions I would make to a few things if it were for me, but since my client has an array of foods that are on her no list I had to do without adding certain spices and veggies. It all was still very good! My mom seasoned the chicken for dinner using the same seasonings I used for the meatballs. She sampled the meatballs as well and instantly fell in love with them haha.

Once I finished my snack I logged the recipes I made for my client and calculated the nutrition before I set out for my run! I started running at sunset and it was absolutely gorgeous.Image It was the perfect temperature outside. The sunflower butter sandwich must have been the perfect fuel for me because I put in 5 miles and I felt like I could have kept going! Or maybe running in the dark just boosted my adrenaline. It was a little slow, but hey, there are a lot of hills in my neighborhood.ย ImageImageImage

Now I am just relaxing. I am trying to decide if I want to bake another recipe tonight or if I want to wait till tomorrow. Decisions, decisions…

I hope you had a great weekend! Have a good week ๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “Cooking Up a Storm

  1. I wish I had some turkey meatballs..the food you are making looks delicious! Up here its another round of cold weather but we did have 4 days of warm temps. that melted a lot of the ice and snow. The other day it was so sunny that I was able to get outside into one of my gardens, open up a book and have a nice beer while enjoying the sun…that’s what you do up here to welcome Spring!

    • Thanks! I bet you were really enjoying the warmer temps after all that snow. That sounds so relaxing to sit out in the garden. Hopefully this round of cold weather doesn’t last long up there!

  2. U know its ok to feel that way about church. Something I will share with you, I attended church forever, went to church camps every summer, worked at church camps when I was in college, you know I never did get rid of the feeling of not knowing enough bible stuff, but I looked at church as being a great outlet for me to help others, like serving soup kitchens, helping with the youth group, nursery helper, heck I even would sign up to arrange the flowers on the pulpit for the month of March. Secretly, it is my birthday month so I bought all of the flowers that I loved and arranged them. It made me feel like I had a place in church, and i did. That’s what is so cool about being different., We all have our own talents to share. Plus it is fun to only dress up for an hour. Haha great run, love u

Leave a Reply

