Local 22

Happy Saturday, friends! How was your day? Did you relax or were you taking this day to get a jump start on your to-do list? Mine was a mixture of the two, resulting in a wonderfully fulfilling day.

This morning I woke up and took a few minutes to figure out a game plan before I fixed my breakfast. I made a vanilla cinnamon tea latte and then topped a bowl of granola with berries and pistachios. Soaked down in yummy almond milk. It was a cool and refreshing breakfast!Image

Once I finished eating I made my grocery list for my client and then headed off to Harris Teeter to do the shopping. When I returned home I was more than ready to get started on one of the recipes. I decided to make Asian Turkey Stuffed Acorn Squash. It was made with ground turkey and a plethora of veggies (red bell pepper, water chestnuts, baby bok choy, carrots, green onion, cilantro, ginger). I sampled it and oh my goodness was it good. I love water chestnuts 🙂 Image

For lunch I made myself a chicken-less chicken (from Trader Joe’s) quesadilla with peppers and onions. I also had a banana, crackers and milk.Image It was pretty good. Then again, I think you can make anything taste good if you make it into some type of mexican dish.

After lunch I got started on another dish for my client and then went to the barn! I spent a good hour and a half soaking in the warm weather at the barn. The arena was still pretty much flooded so I lunged Vinnie in the round pen. I saw Lena, Renee and Marty so I spent a few minutes talking to each of them. It was just a terrific day at the barn 🙂 I feel like I could quote my mom: “it made my heart smile.” (my mom says weird stuff like that… sometimes it is appropriate though)Image

As soon as I got home I jumped in the shower and got ready to meet Margaret for an early dinner. I was so excited to catch up with her. It has been a while since we got together so it was nice to talk about where we are at in our recoveries. It is nice to talk to someone who really understands everything that I am thinking and feeling. I could go on and on about what we talked about, but there is one thing that I absolutely want to share. I was dropping Margaret off at the Duke game and we were talking about what it was like to look “normal” but still be affected by this disease. I told her how a small part of me still wanted to be “special” and how having an eating disorder made me feel like that. It is like Eduardo is still trying to convince me that I need this eating disorder to be my identity. She went on to ask me “what if you found another identity?” She said she wanted her identity to be a doctor and she wanted that more than anything. She said I had already moved forward with creating my real identity with my little personal chef job. I am helping a person who struggles with their nutrition by cooking what they need. She was so right. I don’t need anorexia to be my identity. I have an identity that is ALL mine that I must let shine. If you are struggle with your identity, know that you have a unique one as well, now let people see that. Ok, so I think rambled on a little. For dinner we met at Local 22, a new restaurant right by Duke. Ohmygosh, it was so, so, so good! I ordered the Carolina Panino with a small salad.Image It was prosciutto, mozzarella, tomato and basil pesto. It was a HUGE sandwich, too. I only ate half of it. It was a really good challenge for me. I haven’t challenged myself that often lately, so this was a little nudge out of my comfort zone. I was so glad we were able to have dinner!

Now we are watching the Duke vs Syracuse game. It is a nail biter.

Running update: One week till the Florence Forth 10k! I am nervous and doubting my abilities, but I know when the time comes I will be fine.

Well I am off to relax! Tomorrow I have an early wake up call to go to church with the guys. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Leave a Reply

