Krispy Kreme Recap and an Awesome Time at the Barn!

Good evening! I have had so much fun today! I can’t wait to tell you all about it 🙂

Well, last night before bed I had a glass of milk, a few strawberries and blueberries and a sunflower butter sandwich. I slept alright, but I was awake until a little after midnight. I was up a little after 6 to get ready to head to Raleigh! I got dressed for the race and then made a quick breakfast. I never am in the mood to eat that early in the morning to eat, but I knew I needed the energy and I didn’t want to wait too long and be uncomfortable on my run. I had two slices of peanut butter toast. Ignore the apple, I saved it for after the run but didn’t eat it till we got back home. Image

We left the house a little after 6:30 so we could have time to find parking, walk to the start and get situated. I drove my aunt and uncles Excursion and I was so glad that I did. They let me drive since I knew where I was going. Driving really helped me to keep calm. I feel like if I weren’t driving I would have started to go into a panic attack about absolutely nothing. I get anxious about really random things. Anyways, I was so excited when we got there and I was so happy to share the experience with such caring people. We made a quick restroom stop at Dunkin Donuts (that’s appropriate, right?) before lining up to start the Krispy Kreme Challenge!

I ran with Madelyne and Matt until Madelyne told him to go ahead because we were slowing him down. I feel like we ran at a fast (for me) pace during the first half and it felt great! It was so much fun bobbing and weaving between all the other runners. It felt like a game almost. Madelyne and I stuck together for the entire race. We just grabbed our boxes of Krispy Kremes and kept running. The majority of the run to Krispy Kreme was down hill, so a lot of the run back was uphill. I was feeling the burn haha. We went slower on the way back to the bell tower, but we managed to run/jog the entire thing! I was so happy and proud! We finished in just over 50 minutes! It was fun to see all of the different runners and their costumes. The whole thing was very impressive, just like the other years I ran this 🙂 ImageImageImageImageImage

Once we made it back to the car I drove us all to Durham so I could stop at the Bulls to do the re-hire paperwork. There were so many people there for the job fair, but I was in and out in just a few minutes. We did a little tour of Duke while we were in town. We showed Matt the football field and all the other sporting facilities.

When we made it home I ate my apple and then worked on the crossword puzzle with my dad. Once we finished that I did the sudoku puzzle before fixing my lunch. My mom made her turkey “chili” again and I topped it with a little cheese and Greek yogurt. I also made a mozzarella and tomato sandwich that I had with green pepper and a yogurt.Image

Next on the agenda was the barn! My aunt and uncle accompanied me and they said they had a great time! It turned into a beautiful day and I think they were really enjoying the sunshine. As I brushed Vinnie and got him ready to work, Marty chatted with my aunt and uncle. It was funny to listen to their stories. I lunged Vinnie before riding. I did a quick ride, but it involved very little walking. He was struggling with picking up the correct lead on is first direction, but other than that he was such a good boy! He was a little speedy at the canter, but every horse has his off days. 

When we got home from the barn I working more on my application for NC State. I took a break to grab a snack of fruit, pretzels and cheese crackers before finishing up my application and submitting it!Image I was relieved to get that finished. Now we are all relaxing and enjoying our time together!

3 thoughts on “Krispy Kreme Recap and an Awesome Time at the Barn!

  1. It was an amazing day….a true celebration of your health. You are strong,
    powerful and have so much courage. Your happiness is shimmering in your eyes. Your dad and I are so proud of you:)

Leave a Reply

