BUSY Tuesday, Relaxed Wednesday

Good afternoon, friends! Sorry for not touching base sooner. Yesterday was a whirlwind of a day. Is it just me or is it that whenever a day goes by really quickly it also feels like that day happened a week ago? Yeah, that was yesterday.

Let me begin with the usual: I woke up and made myself breakfast as I worked on the crossword puzzle and sudoku. I made a big bowl of oatmeal (made with an egg) topped with berries, a clementine, and a chai latte.Image Once I finished up the puzzles I decided to slice the bars I made for my client. One of them turned out great while the other one crumbled on me. I fixed it by adding more dried dates and peanut butter. I stuck it back in the fridge to chill. I did a small amount of cleaning as well and then I realized I had to run a check out to the barn. I was cutting time a little close because I still had to get ready, pack all of the frozen meals, cut and package the revamped nut bars and throw my lunch together. So I ran out to the barn and had just enough time to do everything I needed to do and still leave on time to meet my client and have all three of my appointments (nutritionist, doctor and therapist).

My client was so excited about all of the meals! She mentioned she had a difficult week and she was really hoping that my service would help her. I was so happy to see the big smile on her face! I hope that everything I made reheats well. That is the only thing I am nervous about. I can’t wait to start planning and preparing the next week of meals!

Session With Mary

During my session we talked about some things to do with my client and then we moved on to talking about me. I feel like I did have much prepared to talk about so I kind of talked about how I love being healthy but a part of me still want to be skinnier. So we talked about ways to love yourself as you are, flaws and all. It is the flaws that make you who you are. Life would be so boring if everyone were exactly the same. She told me stories about how she would look at other people and wish that she had a perfect life like they seemed to live. Then she told me how those people lived a life far from perfect. Sure, a woman can be strikingly gorgeous, but she might be completely empty. She could spent hours on her hair and makeup and be thin and she would truly appear to be “perfect.” But that was all this woman could offer. Her personality was almost non-existant, she had no career, she had no energy, she had poor health and no life. Mary then told me another story about a family they knew who seemed to have everything: the fancy cars, the colossal house with a maid, all the gadgets you could want, etc. Then she told me that the family itself was in ruins. The parents got divorced, the daughter became dependent on alcohol, and their son lost a battle with cancer. She said that those things made her appreciate her life so much more and she told me that her life IS perfect just the way it is, and mine can be too. Sometimes we just need real life stories to convince us that our lives our exactly that; our lives. We must enjoy them and cherish them for what they are. Mary also did an activity with me that brought me back to my days of elementary school. She traced my body on a big sheet of paper and told me to write positive things about myself on it. I loved it haha! Our session had to wrap up because I had to go for my appointment with Dr. Chung.

Appointment with Dr. Chung

So I would say that my appointment with Dr. Chung went great! It was short and sweet like always. I basically told him what I’ve been up to since the last time we met and he checked my weight and blood pressure, breathing, heart and all that good stuff. He also briefly mentioned next time talking about the dosage of my medication since it is not a permanent thing. Bam, just like that I was heading out of the doc’s office. I don’t have to go back for another 6 weeks, yippee!

Since we had about an hour and a half to kill before my appointment with Lori we headed over to Whole Foods. I hadn’t eaten my lunch yet so I grabbed a table while my parents got their lunch (for my mom) and snack (for my dad). I packed myself a turkey sandwich, an apple, pretzels and greek yogurt.Image We ate and talked and relaxed a little before heading out the door.

Appointment with Lori

My appointment with Lori went well also. We talked a lot about what kind of thoughts I have and how often I have them. Then she also asked how often I act upon those thoughts and what values I have that keep me from acting on them. I talked a lot about how I have the thought to cut back on bubbles because I am unhappy and happy with my weight all at the same time. I have that thought very frequently, but because I don’t act on it she says I am really starting to understand what thoughts are healthy for me and wich ones are poisonous. Since a lot of my thoughts are advice giving thoughts (“you should do… in order to…”) or thoughts about what I need to do (making lists in my mind, trying to plan/organize) the majority of them fell under the “mushroom cloud” category, where one thought leads to the next which leads to the next. Then we talked about the thought I have about my future. I tried to explain my thoughts and categorize them as best as I could, but I don’t know if I did it all that well. We talked about school and how I felt when I asked my dad if he thought I should do a transfer application to NC State as backup. I told Lori how my initial reaction to his response, which was “well since you brought it up, yes,” was he doesn’t think I am good enough to get into UNC. Should I even try? Do I need to try harder? But then I was about to have the rational though of he just doesn’t want to see me out of options incase I don’t get accepted. He just wants to see me in school. Lori helped me to kind of analyze those thoughts some as well. I left with a few goals for the week a head of me. I think my number one goal is to just do better at doing my breathing and thinking exercises. I am aiming to do them 3-5 minutes 5 days a week. That should be doable!

Once I was done at Lori’s I had a Kind bar for a quick snack before I headed over to Josh’s house to meet him and Justin for dinner and a movie.Image We went to Elmo’s Diner and it was so crowded! 10% went to my mom’s school so it felt good to support her school. I ordered huevos rancheros and it was delicious!Image I always have a good time with those two. They are quiet the funny duo.

After dinner we went to go see That Awkward Moment.Image {source} It was hilarious! It was filled with “adult language and sexual situations” but honestly that is what made the movie haha. That and Zac Efron. Anyone else a fan of him?

After the movie I headed home and did a little relaxing before I fixed my snack. I had PB2 toast with banana slices, trail mix and a glass of milk.Image I watched Teen Wolf as I snacked and then I was off to bed!

Yesterday was a good day even though I was busy and my eating times were thrown off a little. My sessions went well and I had fun with the guys. Sounds like a success to me!

Relaxed Wednesday (so far)

This morning I woke up and repeated my breakfast from yesterday, except I had dark cherry tea instead of a chai latte.Image I worked on my puzzles and relaxed a little between laundry loads. At 11:30 I decided to go for my 30 minute run. It was a little dreary outside, but hey, sometimes you have to work with what you can get. I thought it was a good run even though my pace was kind of all over the place. Image

Since I was too busy yesterday to get my cross training in I think I will go to the PiYo class tomorrow. I love that class!

After my run I had chocolate milk and then got to work on more laundry and cleaning.Image Then I started typing up this blog before my cat rudely invited herself to be the center of my attention. She has gotten so bad about personal space! Aren’t cats supposed to like being left alone? Not this one apparently haha. Image

Well I am off to go make my lunch and do some more cleaning! I might do some sanding as well… we will see! I hope you are having a great Wednesday so far!

Leave a Reply

