Errand Day

Hello, hello! I can’t believe how busy I have been the past two days. I did so much running around today I can barely remember what I did yesterday.

Yesterday

For my morning snack I had greek yogurt with a bak ball crumbled on top before I went to my PiYo class. It was a great class! It kicked my butt again haha.Image

After PiYo I went to Whole Foods and fixed my lunch from the salad bar. I made a salad topped with veggies, quinoa, black beans and a hard boiled egg as well as a variety of fruit and a chocolate milk. Once I finished eating I did a little shopping to get a few things we were out of.Image

When I got home I worked on making my shopping list for my client! Then I did a little relaxing before having my snack of trail mix. I relaxed some more and then got to work on dinner. I made chicken burgers that my dad grilled up. I also made carrot fries and a sweet potato. ImageImage

I began reading my next book!

For my bedtime snack I had granola, banana slices, and sunflower butter served cereal style (with milk). Image

Today

This morning I slept in and it felt great! I made myself a bowl of oatmeal and granola. I also had a chai latte, cherry tea and a green smoothie. My green smoothie was super simple and delicious! Image

  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter
  • two big handfuls fresh spinach

After breakfast I got ready to head into Durham. I dropped my mom off at her school and I was on my way to Chapel Hill to go to Trader Joe’s and Kroger to get the groceries on my list. It took me a while to find some of the things on the list, but I think I got everything I need to make the meals and snacks for my client! 

Because I slept in and had a late breakfast, I ended up not having a morning snack. I had a late lunch at Panera Bread where I ordered the choose two with Broccoli Cheddar Soup and a turkey sandwich. I ordered the apple as my side. I am so going to recreate that soup. I love it!Image

Once I finished eating I went to Harris Teeter to get butternut squash and ice to keep all the groceries cold. I then went to my moms school where I spent the rest of the day. When we were ready to go my mom said she wanted to stop at the grocery to get things for dinner because she wanted to go out tomorrow night instead. So I think I hit my all time record for going to 4 different grocery stores in one day!

When we finally got home I put everything away and then had my snack. I had pretzel sticks, yogurt and trail mix.Image

I spent some time playing sudoku and watching Netflix. My dad ended up having to go back to Roxboro so I told my parents they should have a date night. So I am on my own for dinner! 

I think I kind of struggled a little today. I was happy that I slept in because that meant a late breakfast and no morning snack. I have just been feeling so huge lately and I know that part of it is just that I see myself differently than how I really am. But still, I was happy that I was able to listen to my hunger levels and I didn’t have to have a snack when I wasn’t hungry. I have been trying not to think about it so that I don’t get the urge to slip. I don’t know if any of that made any sense, but I am not going to let those negative thoughts weasel their way back in!

2 thoughts on “Errand Day

  1. Hi. I know, I’m kinda spamming your comments section, lil by lil. Sorry. But I really enjoy your entries, and you seem like such a kindhearted and fun person to interact with!

    Smoothie – I want to try this! I have 2 questions. 1) Do the bananas have to be frozen? I’m just curious. 2) Do you drink this fresh? For instance, would it taste awful if I made it in the morning, fridged it all day, then drank it at the end of the work day?

    Struggles – Well, it sounds like you’re being VERY honest with yourself, which I think is what separates an Eduardo victory from a beautiful Ms. Crum victory. One thing it took me a looooong time to understand is that a normal and ED behavior can be exactly the same–what matters is the motivation. For instance, a mentally and physically person sometimes has a cookie for breakfast, for enjoyment, a special treat, whatever, and all is well and good with the world. Someone very much battling with an ED might do the same thing, but it might be a form of restriction, or binging, or something very detrimental, with bad reasoning and a bad overall reaction.

    So I think it’s absolutely wonderful to be honest and recognize that even when your behaviors differ from your norm, it doesn’t have to mean you’re sliding into past habits. Instead, it can mean that you’re becoming more flexible and kind to yourself, even when life doesn’t follow the perfect schedule we want it to. At the end of the recovery path, there are still birthday parties and dessert menus, as well as long stretches of time when maybe we aren’t able to have any food or maybe where we have to exercise quite hard. All these are opportunities to love yourself, strive toward health, and establish an overall healthy eating mentality that isn’t dictated by following a set schedule or eating a particular amount. Please know that I find you to be a beautiful and strong woman, inside and out. 🙂

    • Hey! Don’t worry, I like having these interactions! It is great to have the occasional chit chat with someone who understand the difficulties. Plus you have given me great suggestions when it comes to food and books!

      Smoothie- 1) I use frozen bananas because it makes the smoothie colder. That way I don’t have to add ice cubes. I am not sure if it makes the texture creamier or not, I haven’t really compared a smoothie with a frozen banana and a room temp one. I’m sure a room temp banana would work just as well though! If you desire it to be colder you could always add a few ice cubes. 2) Yes, I drink it fresh. I have never tried keeping it in the refrigerator before, but I am interested now to see if that would work. If I try it out I will let you know!

      Struggles- Thank you! I have been trying really hard to be honest with myself and separate those Eduardo thoughts from my own. You make an excellent point. Having an ED separates you from others because you have a negative relationship with food. I could eat exactly the same thing as someone else but feel guilty and the other person wouldn’t have a care in the world, and our emotions connected to food are what characterizes us. I think you said it better though haha. Thank you so much for reminding me that it is ok to stray from the norm as long as I am not having bad thoughts associated with it 🙂 I can tell from all of your heartfelt comments and support that you are a truly kind and beautiful person. You are able to spread happiness with your uplifting words and I can’t thank you enough!

Leave a Reply

