A Wonderful Opportunity

Yesterday I mentioned that I had an afternoon and evening full of meetings and appointments. Well, they went great! I was so excited to meet my “client” that I will be a “personal chef” for. She seemed so kind and I couldn’t be more trilled to have the chance to help her by preparing meals and snacks for her. There will be a few challenges that go along with this, for example everything will need to be gluten and sugar free. I can’t wait to experiment using different ingredients to produce healthy, nutrient dense foods. There are a handful of other food restrictions that I will have to work around, but I can’t wait to broaden my horizons! She also likes different cuisines that I will finally get to try. It was great to get to know her and I can’t believe I was given this opportunity!

After meeting her, I took an hour to go get lunch before I met back at Mary’s for my session. I hopped on over to Whole Foods and grabbed my usual turkey sandwich, WhatsoNutso bar, fruits, and veggies.Image

I wrote down how my goals went that morning before I left home so I was well prepared to discuss certain topics. I also talked about my parents and how they are doing with their eating and health. Once my hour session was over Mary and I discussed a few more details about my “client.” I left with a big box of many cook books and maybe since I am snowed in today I will get some planning knocked out! 

I didn’t get home until about 5:45 so I made a quick snack and then relaxed. For snack I had yogurt and a sunflower butter sandwich.Image I finished reading my book, Looking For Alaska. It is a great book that really makes you think about things that are unknown or can’t be answered. It made me angry, but that is how the reader is supposed to feel. The writer did an excellent job of recreating emotions in the reader than would correlate with the emotions experienced by the narrator. I’m upset, but it was a great book. It reminded me of The Catcher in the Rye but that just might be me. It has been a while since I read that book. 

When I was done reading I fixed a bowl of my mom’s turkey chili. I enjoyed it with a few crackers.Image I played sudoku and watched tv until it was time for a snack before bed. I had some of my mom’s crock pot banana bread quinoa, an apple, a Bak ball and a glass of milk.Image Then I was off to dream land.

This morning I woke up and wrote my Morning Pages and then I joined my mom in the kitchen where I created my first, and probably last, “savory oatmeal breakfast bowl.” I cooked the oatmeal on the stove top with an egg and then I added my veggies. When it was done I topped it with some cheese, pepper and red pepper flakes.Image It was alright, but I definitely prefer the fruit, nut, cinnamon, granola, etc. type of toppings. 

Now I am off to attempt productivity on this snow day! Image

4 thoughts on “A Wonderful Opportunity

  1. Gluten and sugar are my favorite things in the whole wide world. It’ll definitely be interesting to see what you come up with!

    Le sigh. We def have differing tastes in books. I think Catcher in the Rye is interesting from a literary movement standpoint, but not enjoyable as a story, and I hated Looking for Alaska. I also disliked The Fault in Our Stars by the same author, which has gotten SO much praise and is even being made into a movie, so I guess I’m the odd one. I just don’t think John Green creates full-fleshed characters. They’re pretty type cast to me, and the storylines read: I did this. Then I did this. Then this happened. Then this. Finally, this. Then I don’t know how to end my book, so let’s leave it with this.

    Have you tried grinding your oats, mixing with egg whites and greens, and frying it on the stovetop like a pancake? I recently read this suggestion on a blog and it reminded me that my sister makes a delicious version with bread crumbs and cheese. I totally get avoiding savory things in the morning though. A coworker has seaweed for breakfast, and I’m just . . . how?? (You would think I wouldn’t judge others’ eating habits . . . but I totally do.)

    • I can see how you would dislike Looking For Alaska now, the characters are a little bland and predictable. I will take your work for it and not read The Fault in Our Stars! Do you have any books that you would absolutely recommend?? I just started another one titled Lies You Wanted to Hear.

      I have not tried that before, but maybe I will soon! I have seen people grind oats and add protein powder and egg whites to make pancakes, but I haven’t seen it done in a savory way before so that could be interesting. I agree, seaweed? What in the world? I judge others’ eating habits as well. A lot actually haha. I am trying not to though!

      • Breadcrumbs and cheese with eggs is definitely savory but verrrry delicious. Maybe later in the day? Kinda like an extra-protein deconstructed grilled cheese. Yeah, I’ll go with that . . .

        Books? Do you like Mindy Kaling? I thought Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? was hilarious. Also, what are your thoughts on food writing? You might like it, since you like cooking and coming up with interesting things. The Man Who Ate Everything by Vogue’s food editor Jeffrey Steingarten is written wonderfully and candid, plus it has some great points about being open to appreciating all foods. I also love, love, LOVE Ruth Reichl. She’s a great writer, lived in Berkeley (but from NY), and is a wonderful female role model. Garlic and Sapphires is one of my favorites by her because it talks about the personas she took on as the NY Times’ food critic.

      • Hmmm, I will have to try that sometime! It could make a good snack or part of a meal!

        I do like Mindy Kaling, but I have never read any of her work. I am a sucker for funny books so I will put that on my list! I haven’t read much food writing but you’re right, I think I would enjoy it! Thank you so much for the suggestions! I will definitely be looking into them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

