The Bangles Were Right

The Bangles were right… Mondays are manic! I was so busy that by the end of the day I was just too tired to do my recap.

I was up early to leave the house with my mom to drop her off at her school on time. I quickly grabbed my things and threw down my breakfast. I tried her crock pot banana bread quinoa. It was alright, but it wasn’t a life changing “oh my gosh I want to eat this every morning” kind of meal. I topped it with a few sliced strawberries. Image

After I dropped my mom off I was off to the Y to do my run for the day! I did 4 miles without stopping, yay! Well, technically I guess I stopped once, when the treadmill shut off on me. I hit quick start and it gives you a 35 minute time frame (30 minute workout plus a 5 minute “cool down”) so I had to start it back up again to finish my remaining .64 miles.ImageImage I went at a slower pace as to not make myself feel yucky. I did feel rushed because I only had an hour window to drive to the Y, run, shower, and drive back to my mom’s school to pick her up to take her to her doctor’s appointment. I managed to do it though! It was the quickest shower of my life haha. Here is my running plan for the week:

  • Monday: 4 miles
  • Tuesday: rest
  • Wednesday: 3 miles
  • Thursday: cross train (probably PiYo!)
  • Friday: rest
  • Saturday: 4.5 miles – ONE WEEK TILL KKC

I bought a chocolate milk before joining my mom in the lobby. I had my chocolate milk and a sunflower butter sandwich that I snacked on while I read as I waited for my mom.Image

My mom has vertigo caused by a virus. That is what her primary care doctor said anyways. The doctor said she has seen in increase of cases of that particular thing. Weird.

When we got home I cleaned up the kitchen a little and then relaxed before I fixed my lunch. I steamed up some broccoli and heated up vegetable chili. I also had a yogurt.Image When I was done eating I got ready to go to the barn to ride Vinnie again! My mom went with me and sat on the stool in the arena and took lots of pictures of me riding haha. She gets camera happy 🙂 Vinnie was great today, he didn’t try to lay down and he didn’t do anything else out of the ordinary. So what was Sunday all about? That is one of those questions that will never be answered. I had a lot of fun riding yesterday though! He is really listening well. There are still so many things I need to work on though! ImageImageI think he is sneezing/coughing in this picture.ImageImageImageImage

When I got home from the barn I started sanding the cedar for my bed frame. I love the cedar. Boy, is it pretty. While I was sanding my mom ran my phone out so me because I was getting a call from Josh. I called him back and he invited me to dinner with him and Justin. I declined, but then reconsidered. I hadn’t done anything social in a while and I haven’t had that big of a food challenge. My mom was making crock pot lasagna soup for dinner. She is determined to come up with more successful crock pot recipes other than chili! I took a look at the crock pot and decided I should just go to dinner with the boys. I called Josh back and told him I would go. They wanted to leave for dinner around 6 so I had my snack a little early (well, it was probably at the right time and every other day I eat it late haha). I had brie, a clementine and a Bak ball. And yes, I did make it into a face. Image

After snack I went back to sanding until it was time for me to get a shower and get ready to go to Josh’s. We left Josh’s not having any idea where were going. I was very nervous about not knowing where we were going. They told me I could choose the place, but that wasn’t any easier haha. I couldn’t decide. They got a good laugh at how I was overreacting about where to go. Josh helped me out by suggesting TGI Friday’s. We ended up going there and I was glad we did. I had the most delicious spinach florentine flatbread.Image I don’t know why I never think to go there? I realized I just can’t handle choosing a place. I want everyone else to like the place I choose but I also still have a fear of not knowing what is on the menu and if they will have something that will be comfortable (but still challenging) for me to order. Anyways, dinner was great. I had a good time and the two guys and I laughed the whole night. After dinner we went back to Josh’s and searched Netflix for a movie to watch. We chose 21 & Over and it was the perfect movie to continue the night’s theme of laughter.

When I got home It was almost 11 so I fixed a quick snack and played sudoku before heading off to bed. I had greek yogurt topped with berries, pretzels, a Bak ball and caramel crisps. Image

This morning I woke up earlier than I would have liked so I watched an episode of Chuck on Netflix before it was light enough for me to do my Morning Pages. Once I finished with that I got up to make my breakfast. I made a bowl of oatmeal and a spinach and onion scramble topped with cheese and hot sauce. I also had strawberries and blueberries as well as a chai latte. Image

This morning I am going to take it easy before I get ready for my afternoon full of meetings/appointments! We are also expecting more snow, although it seems like every weather source is calling for it to start at different times… So who knows. My mom checked what the weather was like for our family in PA and my sister in TN. Their forecasts sound just as bad, maybe even worse. -8 this morning in PA? NO THANK YOU. Stay warm and safe family and friends! Those out there on the West Coast, enjoy the warmth and know that I am jealous haha!

4 thoughts on “The Bangles Were Right

  1. I had no idea you could get vertigo from a virus. I thought it had to be from an experience (like slipping at the top of a ladder). Clearly your mom has been sky diving without you . . . 😉 I hope she feels better!

    I’m so glad to read that you reconsidered and decided to go out on an impromptu dinner! That shows SUCH a great attitude. I’ve noticed that females in particular have a difficult time picking a place to eat because they’re always very nervous about pleasing everyone. I’m glad that you not only challenged yourself but were happy with the choice.

    If it makes you feel any better, the Bay Area is cooling down. Not -8 (!!!) or any of that nonsense, and one thing that’s nice is that even if it is still winter for a while, the days are slowly but surely getting longer.

    • Vertigo from a virus was a new one to me too. Now I know what she does when I go to the barn, haha!
      Thank you! And yes, I feel like it is such a female trait to want to please everyone with our decisions.
      You are right! Each day has more sunlight and believe me, I am cherishing every moment of it!

Leave a Reply

