Lunch Break Recap

Ugh… Mondays just never get easier, do they? I am on my lunch break now at my dad’s office so I decided to pop in to do a quick recap of my Sunday! I slept in a tiny bit before I made a breakfast that seemed to have a theme of the color orange. I had an orange pepper and cheddar omelet, a clementine and a bowl of hot cereal. It was quite delicious! After my breakfast I worked on the crossword puzzle before I made the quickest trip to the barn. I wanted to see Vinnie because I hadn’t seen him in a while so I took the time to go give him a quick lunge in the arena. He was a well behaved guy today 🙂 Image I originally started in the round pen but the ground was frozen solid. Luckily the arena had thawed in the sun. Because I had a late lunch and because I was at the barn, I missed my morning snack for the first time in months. I wasn’t disappointed in myself though because I knew that I could make up for it in my meals and snacks to come. Plus it was a relief not having to eat something when I was still full from breakfast. I rushed at the barn though because my dad and I were going to go see Lone Survivor at 12:30. I got home just in time to make my lunch to go before we were on our way to the theater.Image Lone Survivor was such an amazing movie. It was intense and it had grown men leaving the theater in tears. It is hard to believe that things like that can actually happen in this world. Once we were back at home I went on my Sunday walk with my mom. It was a beautiful day. A little windy and chilly but the sun was out so it felt nice. We then did a few minutes of stretching and practicing yoga positions before I relaxed. Then I finally decided to make homemade granola! It turned out well, too! While I let it cook in the oven I had my snack, which was pretzels with turkey and raspberry preserves along with Triscuits sprinkled with cheese (I melted the cheese on them).  ImageI worked on some puzzles and did some reading before we had dinner. My mom made some delicious buffalo turkey meatballs (turkey because the store didn’t have ground chicken when my parents went) along with sweet potato fries and a little salad that I made for myself. ImageFor my night snack I had dried figs and a bowl of my fantastic granola that I ate like cereal!Image

Overall yesterday was a good day. I might have had a few difficult moments that I did my best to work through. I need to break the mentality of wanting to cut back on eating because I have reached my goal. Talking about goals… Here is Week 6 of my training plan for the KKC!

  • Monday: Run 3.5 miles
  • Tuesday: Rest
  • Wednesday: Run 3 miles
  • Thursday: 45 minute cross train
  • Friday: Rest
  • Saturday: Run 3.5 miles
  • Sunday: Walk 30 minutes

3 thoughts on “Lunch Break Recap

  1. What a gorgeous horse! How old is he? I ride also, although have not in over a year unfortunately…I think it’s great you were able to live your day and fuel around your life. A balanced life is all about doing things you enjoy and taking care of yourself in the process which means fitting in food and rest. I know it can feel strange breaking from a routine but I think you did great! I’ve never heard of that movie, I’ll have to check it out. Have a great week!

    • Thank you! He is 16. Everyone asks if he is a baby, but he is just a petite little Arabian 🙂 And you are right, life is all about balance. I hope you have a great week too!

  2. I am SO proud of you for eating all this yummy, healthy goodness and very grateful for sharing it, as it definitely encourages me (and I’m sure plenty others!!) to commit to normal, happy eating behaviors. What also helps me LOTS is to see that eating normally doesn’t magically make you mentally and physically happy and a-okay–it still takes work and requires commitment. I’m very proud and inspired by you. Also, sweet potato fries are basically heaven in potato form.

Leave a comment