Y Time!

Last night I had a snack of yogurt and dried cranberries as I watched the Penguins game. I was so tired from my garage day that I fell asleep while they were up. Apparently they fell asleep too since they lost 😦

This morning I was up and ready to get my day started. I made a big bowl of oatmeal, a veggie scramble, chicken sausage and a chai latte. To my oatmeal I added a dollop of yogurt and a scoop of PB2 (as well as vanilla and cinnamon) for a little extra creaminess and flavor/protein. Yumm.Image I worked on my puzzles and talked to my mom before we decided to go to Durham to rejoin the YMCA. We have been wanted to do it for a while and we finally did it since the weather was gross today. Pouring rain, thunder, tornado warnings… not good outdoor running weather. I did see some brave people out running though. I guess the warmer temperature made up for the rain. Now I can finally take some yoga classes! On the way to town I had a larabar for my snack.Image I did a 2.5 mile run on the treadmill + .5 mile walk as a cool down.Image It felt great and I worked up a nice sweat being indoors!

My recovery was my usual chocolate milk and I drank it before we stopped at Harris Teeter to get our groceries for the week. They had some KILLER deals that we took advantage of. Buy 2 get 3 free Progresso Soups? 10 for 10 Chobani Greek Yogurts? Yes, please.

When we got home we each made our own lunch. I tried to use up random leftovers in the fridge so I heated up another chicken sausage and made a mix of quinoa, black beans, carrots, green pepper, celery and a garlic and herb laughing cow wedge. I also had some grapes and half an apple. It was a decent combo.Image

After lunch we got cleaned up and then my mom and I went and picked up a few little gifts for Amber before stopping to see her brand new baby boy, Asher! He was born yesterday and he looked great! Congrats again Amber and Dave!

Back at home the rain finally let up and the sky was beautiful.Image For my next snack I had an almond butter sandwich while I played sudoku. Then I worked a little on the slouchy beanie I am making! The brown section I knit and the white section is a crochet puff stitch. The green will be the same as the white. ImageImage (Bad picture, sorry)

Now I am off to get started on our dinner! I am making egg roll chicken chimis again!

3 thoughts on “Y Time!

  1. Mmmm, these food ideas really spoke to me . . . (NOT weird, right??). I like your ideas for adding things to oatmeal. There was once a recipe for the perfect time to stir in an egg to stovetop oats, and I thought it was a great way to “sneak” in protein and eggs, which I never eat. I just tried to find it and instead discovered “oatmeal coated French toast,” which I can’t decide whether I find odd, genius, or gross.
    Anyway. Did you know that canned soup sales are way down, and the companies might go out of business in the coming years?? So get that Progresso while you can!
    Asher is a cute name

    • I have seen the egg in the oatmeal idea as well, but I am a little unsure about it. I have also seen the oatmeal coated French toast! Maybe I will try out both of those soon because I don’t know if I can take my veggie scrambles much longer haha. I need some more variety! I do like the idea of just adding things to oatmeal to get more nutrition. I feel like I could make it so that I could get everything I needed just from oatmeal (try adding an egg for protein, use milk instead of water, stir in a nut butter for healthy fats and top with fruit). I had no idea that soup companies might go out of business! Thanks so much for that info! I hope they don’t, canned soups are so convenient sometimes! Although the alternative homemade soups are less processed, I am scared my soups wouldn’t taste as good haha. I think Asher is a cute name, too 🙂

  2. Hmm..I like that oatmeal idea. I am getting bored with the craisins and walnuts all the time that I add…never thaought about yogurt. Thanks

Leave a Reply

