Week 4 and Baked Egg Roll Chimis

Today had a little bit of a spin to it. I woke up and fixed my breakfast before I threw together some things to take for my snacks and lunch. For my breakfast I made a 2 egg veggie, cheese and toast scramble. I also had a cinnamon cream cheese bagel and a glass of milk.Image For my morning snack I packed a banana and a chewy bar.Image For lunch I packed spicy veggie chili, apple, carrots and sun chips. For my second snack (which I ended up eating at home since we left early so my dad could go to a client’s in Durham) I had a greek yogurt and a Kind bar. Image

I went to work with my dad, but I did just about everything except work. When we got there I went right to work on the kitchen. I threw away all of the silverware and dishes because they were gross. I cleaned out the fridge and sprayed everything down and wiped it up. That took a little chunk if time and then my dad sent me to Food Lion to get a few things for his new healthy diet. So after I ran to Food Lion I ate my snack and then got ready to go on my run. The rain stopped and the sun was out so I jumped on the opportunity to run before the temperature dropped. I started off week 4 of my training plan for the Krispy Kreme Challenge! I ran on the paved path that goes around the baseball field at the park in Roxboro. It was a nice little loop and I really enjoyed it. Here is this week’s schedule:Image

After my run I stopped at a gas station and got a Special K shake for my post run refuel.Image I also went to the post office to pick up mail for my dad. Once I got back to the office I did the day’s puzzles and then had lunch. After lunch I vacuumed and collected all the garbage and took it to the truck. It felt good to do some cleaning up there and now that those little chores are taken care of I can be more of a help tomorrow.

At home I did a little knitting and I watched some Netflix. My mom was home earlier than usual for a Monday night but we still had a semi-late dinner. I made a delicious creation! Baked egg roll chicken chimis. Yum! ImageImage

Recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground chicken
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • egg roll wrappers
  • shredded cheese (I used mexican blend for me and fat free shredded cheddar for my parents)
  • 1 egg
  • olive oil

Method: Preheat oven to 400. Cook the ground chicken in a skillet and then added the water and seasoning. I let that cook until most of the liquid was absorbed (so the wrappers wouldn’t get soggy). Then I portioned out a serving size of cheese and chicken between each serving of egg roll wrappers. My parents had two egg roll wrappers and I had three, but the fillings were all the same amount for each of us. Place chimis on a aluminum foil lined cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray. Brush olive oil on top and then bake for 10-12 minutes, flipping once. Enjoy!

I might be making quite a few different egg roll creations since there are still a lot of wrappers left and the package says to use within 7 days of opening! I am excited for making some fun and tasty combinations!

Leave a Reply

