Week 2, Early Christmas, and Sad Goodbye

Good morning, friends. Today has already started off as a gross day. It is pouring down rain now and it will probably continue throughout the day. To add to the grossness of the day, Madelyne is leaving to go back home to Pennsylvania this morning. I am not ready for her to leave. It feels like she just got here! I will see her in February for the Krispy Kreme Challenge, so she will be back here soon. I really enjoyed her visit and I hope she did too!

Before I do a recap of yesterday, here is this week’s training plan!Image I am not sure how I am going to do my run today if it is pouring rain. I don’t have access to a treadmill either since we didn’t renew our YMCA membership over the summer. I will figure it out.

So yesterday I fixed my breakfast. I had a bagel with cream cheese, an egg, cheese and spinach scramble, a clementine and a tea latte.Image Then my mom joined me for my 30 minute Sunday walk. It was pretty relaxing. I mostly just listened to music but we talked a tiny bit. Then I coached her through her first 7 minute workout. I have a 7 minute workout app on my phone that I downloaded for my mom. She was struggling with it, but she can only get better πŸ™‚Β Image

I made myself some post-walk chocolate milk and then grabbed my snack and headed out to the barn.Image Vinnie was awesome today! Well, he was better about moving forward when asked. He still had a few moments of retaliation and one moment of spinning in a 360 and getting completely tangled in the long lines. It was hot and he actually was semi sweaty when I was done long lining. I took the opportunity to get a lesson in with the wash stall and I hosed off his sweaty areas. He dislikes the wash stall very much, so I was glad to make him work through it. He just can’t stand still. I mean, water is pretty darn terrifying… haha. He of course had to make sure to roll once I turned him out. Twice. Gotta cover both sides with dirt.Image

When I got back I did a little knitting and then fixed my lunch. My mom made chicken fajitas with leftovers for everyone, but I wasn’t feeling that. I think my parents are used to me usually making my own thing for lunch. I went with a turkey and gouda sandwich, apple, carrots, baked Cheetos, and a key lime Chobani. I also had a big glass of water with a lime wedge instead of a lemon wedge. Yum!Β Image

After I was done eating, us three amigos (Jennifer, Madelyne and I) headed to Target to do some Christmas shopping. My aunt put money in Maddie’s account so that she could buy us whatever we picked out. I just went with 2 simple shirts that were on sale. I like them πŸ™‚ Jennifer also had to pick up a few things and then I picked out a few gifts to send back with Maddie for her mom. I hope you like them, Aunt Paula! When we got back it was time for the Steelers Game! I finished up the scarf I was knitting (forgot to take a picture before I gave it to Madelyne to use as a gift) while I watched the game. The ending could have been a lot different… My dad and I were yelling that the Steelers should have run the clock down instead of going for the touchdown because it gave Green Bay time to tie the game, which they almost did. I ate pretzels and a Kind bar during the game for my snack.Image

For dinner we had pork tenderloin, brussels with dried cranberries, and sweet potatoes.Image Then we had our early Christmas last night since Madelyne wasn’t going to be with us for Christmas Day. We began with my parents’ gifts and then we opened ours! They gave us each a gag gift. Mine was Mr. Potato head. It was supposed to reference a movie (Tango & Cash) but I didn’t get the reference because I don’t think I have ever seen that movie. I failed my dad big time on that one. Next my dad gave my sister and I the best Christmas gift ever! Tickets to the Canes vs. Pens game on Friday!!!! They are sweet tickets, too πŸ™‚ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage Then we relaxed and then I ate my snack and went to sleep. I had milk, vanilla almond butter sandwich and trail mix.Image I slept on the couch again so the other two could sleep in separate rooms and my cat slept right next to me all night.

Now I am off to enjoy my last few minutes with Maddie until she hits the road.

2 thoughts on “Week 2, Early Christmas, and Sad Goodbye

  1. Awww, byes are hard. Sorry your weather is ick. My whole mood shifts based on the weather, so I completely empathize. Those 7 minute workouts sound interesting. I notice that I use the stretch area of the gym more and more, rather than actual machines, so it’d be great to find even more independent workouts I don’t even need the gym for. Lime water sounds so refreshing!! One of my coworker has an “infusion” water bottle, where she puts cucumber and lemon in the middle, and the taste permeates to the water all day long. It seems a little wasteful if you just throw the fruits and veggies away, but it seems like such a great idea to make water less boring.

    • Weather definitely plays a huge role on my mood, too. If you have a smart phone I believe the 7 minute workout app is free (and I’m pretty sure that’s what it is called). It seems to really make my mom work hard so it appears to be a decent workout. Ohhh wow, that infusion water bottle sounds amazing! I feel like it would be worth it, even if you just toss the fruits and veggies away. My family usually buys water bottles, so I feel like I could make a drastic decrease in my plastic waste, which I am all for! But I agree, great idea to make water less boring!

Leave a Reply

