Madness. Absolute Madness, But in a Good Way!

I hope everyone had a good start to the week! Today was just a go, go, go type of day for me. After I finished up my morning blog I got the day started with a big breakfast. I repeated the gouda scramble with broccoli and red onion, then I had a banana, double serving of oatmeal and a pumpkin tea latte.Image After breakfast I did today’s workout from my plan. I ran one mile and I feel like running after that breakfast was the BIGGEST mistake. Not really, but it was a bad one. I just felt like I was going to throw up, and Madelyne felt the same way and she thinks it is from drinking milk (in the tea latte) before going for the run. Does anyone know anything about that? I mean I’m sure eating a lot before running doesn’t help, but does milk specifically make you feel gross? I think after this morning’s run I am definitely going to try out either running before breakfast (having a snack before I run) or sometime in the afternoon after food has had the time to digest. Tomorrow is a rest day for me so I will try out one of these on Wednesday.

After my run I showered and then had my snack. I combined my post exercise snack with my morning snack. I had my chocolate milk along with a sunflower butter sandwich. I love that stuff!Image I ate my sandwich as Madelyne drove us in to Durham to stop at my mom’s school. It was so great to see everyone there! Amber looks completely different from the last time I have seen her! Her baby will be coming very soon πŸ™‚ I got nothing but positive feedback about how healthy I look now, so that felt great. After spending some time chatting Maddie and I headed over to Whole Foods to get some things for lunch. Maddie went with the hot bar and I got sandwiches for my mom and I. I also got a container and filled it up with a variety of fruits and some cucumber and peppers. I also had a yogurt and a WhatsoNutso bar.ImageAfter lunch Maddie and I went to make appointments at The Retreat for massages on Thursday! I have never had a professional massage before and I CAN NOT WAIT! Morgan Imports was our next stop. We spent some time walking around before we finally found the perfect gift for my sister. Then we were off to Chapel Hill! Maddie and I got our nails done. We just got them painted and it only cost us 6 dollars each. We couldn’t believe how cheap it was! While we had our nails under the light to dry, we talked with another customer. She was an older woman, who was back here visiting her children for the holidays. She is from Honolulu (not originally) and talked about how she ended up there and about her children and then we talked about the education system here in NC. She moved to Hawaii it sounded like for college and then her husband got a job at a private school there (the one Obama went to) and she lived on the campus. It made me want to move to Honolulu! She said the property taxes are a lot lower there than here… πŸ˜‰

Then we went to Trader Joe’s to do part of our grocery shopping. I love that place, but I was more than ready to get out of there today because it was so crowded! We finished up our shopping at Harris Teeter and then we both ate a snack on the way home. I had a LUNA protein bar.ImageΒ Once we got home we put away the groceries and then we relaxed and my mom went over some key points with Maddie for an “interview” she has tomorrow at one of the middle schools in Durham! How exciting is that? Maddie is a little nervous, but I know she will wow him with her awesomeness. Seriously, I wish I had her for a teacher after listening to her talk with my mom! Then I started typing up this post, taking a break to cook dinner and eat it! I made baked zucchini – dipped in egg whites and parmesan, then baked at 425 for 30 minutes, turning over halfway through. These were a big hit! I think it was the first time my dad described something I made as “very good.” I was thrilled πŸ™‚ We also had chicken and French rolls. For my meal I made the addition of barley. I fixed 1.5 servings of quick cooking barley and then added spinach, my chicken and a white cheddar laughing cow wedge. Yum!Image We watched How I Met Your Mother while we ate. I can’t believe they have dragged out this entire season to happen all during the wedding weekend. I am glad we had a relaxing evening since most of the day was spent going place to place.

Anyways, I thought I would share this weeks training plan!

Monday: Run 1 mile

Tuesday: Rest

Wednesday: Run 1 mile

Thursday: 40-45 minutes of cross training

Friday: Rest

Saturday: Run 1.5 miles

Sunday: Rest or walk 30 minutes (I will probably walk)

I am looking forward to another good day tomorrow!

3 thoughts on “Madness. Absolute Madness, But in a Good Way!

  1. The zuc looks delicious . Have fun with Mad, I bet she is picking up some good recipes from you. Keep up the good work, and I love the color of your nails.

Leave a Reply

