How the Grinch Does Dos Perros

Hi guys! Last night was a lot of fun! It was a really good challenge as well! I ate my third snack of the day as I drove into Durham to meet Margaret at the DPAC (Durham Performing Arts Center). She invited me to go to How the Grinch Stole Christmas The Musical with her and I was so glad I accepted! At first I wasn’t sure how I would like it… I am not the biggest fan of musicals, but it was pretty good. I also wasn’t sure about all of the costumes and makeup. For some reason lots of makeup and weird costumes just bothers me. Like the Hunger Games? Yeah all those costumes and wacky makeup just doesn’t sit well in my mind. The best way to sum it up is I’m weird. There. The show last night though was pretty cute. Margaret and I decided a cute way to describe it was “cute.” It is a very kid friendly show and it gets you in the Holiday spirit. There were some funny parts to it and the audience was involved in some parts – there was one song where we were encouraged to sing along and towards the end of the show the audience was sprinkled with fake snow, which was incredible because it melted when it hit you and everything. Margaret’s seats were great! It was a good experience for my first musical. Image

After the show we walked to Dos Perros, an upscale Mexican restaurant. They have very unique entrees for dinner. Margaret and I weren’t really sure what half of it was! Since their dinner menu is small (a handful of entrees and a handful of appetizers) we decided to order a few things off of the appetizer menu. I ordered guacamole and their grilled chile rubbed white shrimp with butternut squash and green beans.ImageImage Margaret ordered herself a caesar salad and the chicken quesadilla. She cut off a portion of her quesadilla to share with me and I gave her a shrimp and some green beans.Image We split the guacamole. It was all so delicious! I cleaned my plate and then to really push myself we ordered dessert to split. I have never had Tres Leches before and holy cake was it good. It had a mango sauce between the cake and whipped cream. It was so light and moist and it just melted right in my mouth. Image

Margaret and I just talked and talked and talked. It felt really good to talk to someone who knew exactly what I meant when I would describe something. It is incredible how similar our experiences have been with our eating disorders. On a completely random side note, Margaret had on the cutest sweatshirt dress and she raved about how comfy it was and I was in total sweatshirt dress envy all night haha.

I got home at about 11:30 and crawled into bed.

This morning my mom came back and woke me up and I filled her in about my night. Then I relaxed for a few with one of my cats before I was up and moving.Image For breakfast I had another pumpkin bagel with cream cheese, a cheesy green pepper egg, a spiced pumpkin tea latte, and banana slices with blueberries. It was all very yummy!Image I did the dishes and did my daily puzzles. Now I am starting to think about how I want to spend the rest of the day. I need to go see Vinnie, so I might go do that after my morning snack. I am also planning on taking lunch into Durham and having lunch at my mom’s school so I can catch up with everyone there! It has just been so long! Then I though about running a few errands to get a few things for some DIY Christmas gifts. Duke Volleyball also plays tonight! I really was wanting to eat at home tonight, but that might not happen since we will more than likely go to the game. It will all work itself out though and what happens happens.

I hope everyone has a great Friday! If you are working today, then I hope you have some fun plans for the weekend! Catch up with ya later 🙂

2 thoughts on “How the Grinch Does Dos Perros

  1. Wow what a fun and really diffwrent night out. Yep i remember having similar feelings about costumes and makeup after seeing Cats on Broadway. It takes a little to get use to when one is raised in a sporto family, but good for you. You may find a musical you adore. I love the Phantom, thinking about seeing Wicked. It is ballet that is a tough one for me to sit through, haha. Hope you spent some time with the V man. And way to go on stretching your comfort zone.ove you

    • Yeah, I think I wouldn’t mind seeing a musical that is realistic. I might enjoy that more. If you see Wicked let me know how it is. Hope you’re doing well up there! Love you bunches

Leave a Reply

