Back to the Norm

After my unpredictable weekend, I was back to routine with a full day at my dad’s office. It wasn’t a bad day, I just feel like I didn’t help out as much as usual. I stayed at my desk and worked on a few things. I mostly played sudoku in between assignments and then did some internet surfing before I remembered I had my book with me. The day actually went by rather quickly despite the fact that I wasn’t very busy. Since it was uneventful I guess I will just do a quick recap of my plates!

Last night’s snack was a chocolate chip pumpkin muffin, baked apple with cinnamon and milk. Fall flavors just punched me in the mouth! So good. Image

Breakfast this morning was my last frozen sandwich with glasses of milk and orange juice. Tasty as always.Image

Snack at the office was a mixture of chopped walnuts and Kashi vanilla squares. Image

Lasagna starred in today’s lunch, along with an apple, yogurt, and mini cheese cracker sandwiches from TJ’s.Image

My second snack was a chocolate pudding with pretzels.  Image

Tonight I am making another dinner using Kraft Recipe Makers. My dad told me I didn’t have to go to work tomorrow and I am rather excited because I am going to take that time to go spend time with Vinnie and try out the new lunging technique! Then I have my afternoon/evening appointments with Mary and Lori and I am going to finally meet Margaret, another girl who is in my situation. We are planning on grabbing dinner somewhere and I am feeling ready for the challenge!

Things To Share

Here is the recipe for the chocolate chip pumpkin muffins! 

First, mix 1/2 stick butter with 1/2 to 1 cup of sugar. I used 1/2 cup because that is all we had left! The recipe my aunt gave me called for 1 cup. My muffins turned out very well, so I guess it can be a personal preference on how much sugar to use 🙂

Then add:

– 2 eggs

– 1 cup pumpkin

– 1 1/3 cup flour

– 1 teaspoon baking soda

– 1 teaspoon cinnamon

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

Stir in 1 cup chocolate chips and bake at 350 for around 25 minutes, or until they look done. I made a batch of 12, but I’m sure you could alter cooking temp/time to make bigger or smaller ones. 

 

Another thing I would like to share is a video that I stumbled upon on another blog and while it doesn’t fully relate to me and my situation, a lot of others might really relate to it. So why not jump on the opportunity to share it? Click HERE to watch! 

9 thoughts on “Back to the Norm

  1. Chocolate chip pumpkin muffin. Mmmm. See, THAT’S why I love muffins so much more than cupcakes. When you say “can of pumpkin,” that means canned pumpkin, not pumpkin puree or whatever they sell, yes? And any particular kind of flour you like? Also, I like how you write recipes. VERY easy to follow. I’ll definitely give it a try.

    Also, I’m listening to the video as I reply. She just pointed out how ridic it is to feel “entitled” to calories. I like it. I like it very much. Thank you for sharing!

    • I agree, muffins are WAY better than cupcakes! So for the pumpkin, I had a large can of Libby’s 100% pure pumpkin already so I just measured out 1 cup to add to my recipe. Sorry I didn’t clarify that on the recipe! I used flour that my parents already had on hand, which was Food Lion brand white all purpose flour. I would have liked to try it with whole wheat flour, but I am learning not to be picky 🙂 My nutritionist actually told me that plain white breads (which is basically white flour, right?) have higher levels of B vitamins in it, so I just focus on the positives of whatever ingredient I am using.

      I am so glad that you liked the video! Hope you’re doing well!

      PS – if you end up trying different types or amounts of ingredients, let me know how it turns out! I thought about adding dried cranberries to my next batch…

  2. Hey
    Glad they turned out. I have some cranberries in the cupboard, going to try they tonight. I think I may also use applesauce as a sweetener too. We will see. I will let you know. Tonight baked ziti for supper. Have fun with V. Is your saddle shipped to you yet? Can not wait to see the pics. Love u

Leave a Reply

