Life’s Little Treasures

Happy Halloween! We just had our first trick or treaters of the night! Then someone in the second group was a “purple spider witch.” That is a new one for me haha.

When I walked into the kitchen this morning to get started on my breakfast and packing my snack and lunch I noticed that the sky was a beautiful pink hue. I grabbed my camera and dashed out to the back porch to capture the texture of the clouds and the colors of the sunrise. Starting the day off with a breathtaking sunrise is one of the little treasures that this world has to offer.Image Nothing can put you in a better mood (other than making eye contact with Kris Letang). Another thing that fills me with joy is seeing the leaves change.Image Yet another gift from nature πŸ™‚

For breakfast I repeated yesterday’s meal but with the addition of cheese on my waffle-wich.Image I also repeated my snack at work.Image Today I worked on recording and adding together transactions that were recorded in calendars. We left the office at 11 because my dad needed to drop something off at a client’s and then go into Durham to meet with a different client. I sat in the truck and explored a few new apps that I downloaded on my phone. I have one that can measure your heart rate just by having you place your finger over the entire camera. It is surprisingly accurate. Technology these days…

We made a stop at Food Lion on our way home to get candy for our costumed friends. We also ended up getting a few other random things just to have on hand. Then for lunch I had Progresso Chicken Pot Pie soup with an apple, sprinkled with cinnamon, and a pupcake.Image I watched a show on my laptop while I ate and then relaxed for a short amount of time before I headed out to the barn. I talked to Lena at the barn for a few minutes before I groomed and lunged Vinnie. I always like having small conversations with people at the barn. Everyone there is so awesome! I clipped Vinnie and it was a struggle. Not because of Vinnie, but because of the clippers. It doesn’t help that they are like $10 human clippers from Walmart. And the blades are probably beyond dull. So that was a long process, and it still didn’t end up to pretty haha. He was well behaved when I lunged him. I just need to work on pushing him forward so that he isn’t going at a “lazy pace.” Once I got home I fixed my snack: buffalo chicken quesadillas, a peanut butter ball and a glass of milk. Yummy!Image Then I worked on cleaning up the kitchen. I don’t think it matters how much we clean, the next day we are guaranteed to have to do it all over again haha. When my mom got home we worked on setting up a few things to make our house look more “Halloween-y.” Then I got started on making my butternut squash and barley risotto for dinner. It doesn’t require much work, but it takes almost one and a half hours to cook. Right now it is simmering away and it smells sooooo good. Add butternut squash to the list of Life’s Treasures.

Another thing that should always be treasured is the feeling that you get knowing that you are helping others. I can’t even describe the feeling it gives me, but do you know what I am talking about?

Today has been an excellent day for my bubbles. I need to tell myself that filling up all my bubbles is the best thing I could possibly do! It makes me feel a little guilty and puts my anxiety at a 5 or 6, but realizing my anxiety level will help me to lower it. Plus Lori said that pushing myself to a 6 or 7 is the goal for this week! I think Mary always says “if you feel uncomfortable you are doing it right! If you are comfortable with what you are doing, then you aren’t doing enough!” I love my support team so much. Each and every one of you and all of the others on my team are the ones helping me lower that anxiety and fear so that I can live my life! I can’t thank you enough. I AM going to push, I AM going to fill up my bubbles, and I AM going to enjoy this dinner because one of life’s greatest treasures is life itself πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Life’s Little Treasures

  1. Thanks for the Wafflewich..that made me laugh! You may want to add acorn squash to your life treasures list…you can bake it with butter and honey and its delicious! I am thinking that you could use that down time waiting on your dad better…maybe you could use that time to do some shopping for yourself…food items or maybe some decent clippers for Vinnie…anything would be better than sitting around and exploring aps..find a cute coffee/pastry shop and fill out your bubbles in a different environment, go for a walk, reach out to a friend on your phone…open up the possibilities and your life will open up exponentially!

  2. Thanks for the Wafflewich..that made me laugh! You may want to add acorn squash to your life treasures list…you can bake it with butter and honey and its delicious! I am thinking that you could use that down time waiting on your dad better…maybe you could use that time to do some shopping for yourself…food items or maybe some decent clippers for Vinnie…anything would be better than sitting around and exploring aps..find a cute coffee/pastry shop and fill out your
    bubbles in a different environment, go for a walk, reach out to a friend on your phone…open up the possibilities and your life will open up exponentially! One other idea..get out of the vehicle walk around and take some pictures like a photo essay of where you’re at. I think you have a good eye with the camera and could share with us some life shots of Durham. Forget the heartbeat ap..seriously who needs that one..the only time I ever want to hear about how fast your heart was beating is the next time you and Letang make eye contact!

  3. I love you sunrise picture, you know it is ironic, just this morning, while standing at the copier I glanced out the office window and saw the sun peaking through the gloomy, dark clouds, leftover from the wicked rain and wind storm of last night. I looked around the office to see who I could share this picture with, and both ladies at the front desk were busy, so I just slowly turned and enjoyed it myself. You were the person I was to share it with…Yippee, love you and keep on keeping on…

    • Awww I am so glad that we shared the sun peeking through the clouds together πŸ™‚ A wonderful sensation always goes through my body when I see the sun’s rays shining down through clouds. Love you!

Leave a Reply

