I Just Need Days To Be Longer!

Ever feel like there just isn’t enough time in the day to do everything that you want to do? Yeah, I feel like that right now. Mostly just because the couch potato in me wants to watch several shows tonight that happen to be playing all at the same time, so I will have to settle with recording and watching online. I gave up on the Pirates game… it wasn’t pretty at all. And I watched the first period of the Penguins game and they were smokin’ hot.

I also feel like I don’t have enough time to write about everything I want to cover. I have so many topics I want to talk about but I don’t want to make a ridiculously long post! So I will try and quickly sum up my day in as little words as possible so I can save all your reading for some good stuff I want to share. Ready… Go!

Last night’s snack: key lime greek yogurt (yum) nut ball (yum-getting old though) dark chocolate (no more, thank you)Image

Breakfast, Snack, Lunch- packed and ate at my dad’s office. Yum all the way around.Β ImageImage

I worked at my dad’s office until we left at 2. I came home then went right out to the barn to see Vinnie. He had some huge rocks stuck in both his front hooves 😦 His hooves have gotten so sensitive. But it was hot today so with that plus his incoming winter coat he was being sluggish.Β ImageWhen I got home I fixed my snack. Pumpkin oatmeal (holy cow) and greek yogurt.Β ImageThen it was time to watch the Pirates… Not long after I ditched the game to help my mom cook another recipe I found on Pinterest. Lasagna Soup from this cute blog. It was so warm and delicious! The bread my mom brought home was a great dipper. This soup really did taste like lasagna! I was nervous about it before we started cooking, but then I settled down. I also roughly calculated everything so I would know how to bubble it. Two thumbs up for this dinner!Β ImageΒ Now watching The Big Bang Theory while I blog πŸ™‚

Be Strong For Those Around You

At our session with Lori on Tuesday, my mom said that she goes into “teacher tone” (what my dad and I call her voice when she is talking to us like students or co workers) when she starts to feel her anxiety rise because of my anxiety order. Whenever she starts to feel that way she always gets really pushy about it being my snack time and she just can’t seem to relax. I pick up on her nerves and it makes my anxiety increase as well. I am going to give another, non eating disorder, example. Whenever someone is riding a horse, it is very important for them to remain calm. Horses can sense when their rider is nervous and it makes them nervous as well because it makes them think that there is a reason they shouldn’t be calm. I immediately thought of this example when my mom was describing how she copes with her feelings and I pictured this when I thought about how her strategy affects me. We always pick up the emotions of those around us. If we are around upbeat happy-go-lucky people, we tend to feel that way as well. When we are surrounded by those who are feeling unsure about something, we begin to question our own certainty or feelings. I wanted to tell my mom whenever she is having a moment where she is scared and nervous about my eating disorder, she should just take a deep breath and think about how I must be feeling with my own nerves and anxieties with the addition of the emotions I am picking up from her. If that sounds harsh in any way, I really don’t mean it to. I guess what I am trying to say is that no matter what the situation is, if someone is struggling then the best thing you can do is be strong and supportive so that you can transfer that strength on to the person who is need of a little extra πŸ™‚ I know I always feel more relaxed when my parents are more relaxed. It seems like a positive atmosphere can have a huge influence on recovery. So if you know someone else who is going through a tough time, the best thing you can do is demonstrate what it looks like to be happy and healthy in a positive way. Leave all that unwanted anxiety in September and maybe you and everyone around you will start to move in a direction that will lead to greatness. Just my thought for the day!

I feel like I had another topic I wanted to talk about, but I am completely drawing a blank after that long lecture I just gave haha. So you all got lucky! Now get out of here and go enjoy your Thursday night/Friday!

8 thoughts on “I Just Need Days To Be Longer!

  1. Thank you so much for your comments tonight, I am thankful because it helps me to understand what is going on in my own daughter’s head right now. I know she senses my concerns and I can see she feels like withdrawing, which concerns me more, so I hover even more because I just love her so much and want her to be healthy. So it is really helpful for me to hear your side and get perspective – and you don’t sound harsh at all, your honesty is pure. And I know you already know this but moms love their girls more than is comprehensible at this point in your life, so give her a hug, you are so special and it will mean the world to her. And we will be strong! πŸ™‚ Xo

    • Hearing your perspective is just as helpful to me and perhaps now my mom and I will be able to help each other with calming ourselves πŸ™‚ I will be sure to give my mom a huge hug! And I’m sure you already know this too, but we daughters love our moms (and dads… Can’t leave them out hehe) with our whole hearts even if sometimes we don’t act like it. I hope you and your family have been doing well and hopefully I’ll see you soon! πŸ™‚ Good luck in the days to come, I know you guys can do it!

  2. “if someone is struggling then the best thing you can do is be strong and supportive so that you can transfer that strength on to the person who is need of a little extra” VERY well articulated. My parents really struggle as to how to best handle my ED, and I agree that an excellent method is to remain positive, calm, and not try to impose eating rules. Unfortunately, I notice that many people like to guilt trip others into healthier eating habits (i.e. “I couldn’t sleep last night because I’m so upset about your eating. You should eat so that I feel better.”), which I think causes extra stress and doesn’t lead to recovery for the correct reasons. In the end, someone like me or you needs to recover out of personal self-worth, not to people-please others. Thank you, once again, for your upbeat and inspiring posts.

    We have a lot of similar food tastes, but I remember getting that pumpkin spice oatmeal last year and being seasonal. I’ve noticed that generic Target brand products usually aren’t as good as name brands, but of course this is personal preference. I’ve also taste-tested quite a few Larabars now, and I have to say apple pie and cherry cobbler blow blueberry muffin out of the water for me, which is surprising because blueberry muffins are one of my favorite desserts. I also love their bananas foster flavor, but roasted nut roll tastes surprisingly terrible. I could be a meal/protein bar professional taste tester at this point . . .

    Anyway, thanks for the lovely post, and I send you support and wish you all the best! πŸ™‚

    • I have noticed the guilt trip strategy as well. Although, I am not sure if it is always intentional, but unfortunately that is how we take it. I love how you phrased that we need to recover out of personal self-worth. It is so funny to hear you say that because my nutritionist and I talked about that this week! I am so proud of you for trying more bars… I might have to ask you for your professional opinion on the best bars out there once I run out of the big box of Larabars I got from Costco, haha. Thank you so much for the great comment! I hope you are doing well πŸ™‚

  3. That was an insightful post about the dynamics between you and your mom…a couple of thoughts: first your mom has always had a “teacher tone.” – even I know that one and its been years. Its part of who she is, actually serves to motivate her to do things better and its a part of her personality that helps her be an outstanding educator. Her tone comes from a deep sense of love and caring…so its up to YOU to not interpret her tone as being in anyway judgemental. You can of course verbally ask her if she is judging you and this can lead to further discussion. However don’t expect her to be able to change because its a part of who she is..I think its a twin thing!

    Secondly now that you are aware of how your moms tone affects you..you don’t have to feed into it. In other words you don’t have to continue to be anxious when you hear that tone. You are at the point now when its important to be confident in the choices you are making, the foods you are eating and creating, in the taking care of yourself! You can be like my kids now who have learned to basically “blow me off” when I get into a more serious conversation…because basically they are going to do what they want to do! Which is their way of taking control of their own life’s directions. YOU ARE DOING THAT TOO NOW AND I AM SO PROUD OF YOU! So next time Patti feels like she wants to employ “the tone” (you should come up with a name for it) tell her to take a walk and relax, or maybe its time for you to go out and do the same…a little space between the two of you can help ease the tensions! Then after the time out, its important to get back together and share what was going on inside before the “tone” came out!

    • Thank you Uncle Bill for the great advice! I love how you always have wonderful responses to my thoughts and feelings and you take what I have mentioned and you push me to think about it in a new light. You look deeper into the things I say and you pull out meanings and lessons for me to learn from. I am so lucky to have you on my team!

  4. Wow, I love how your analogies involve horses. I often refer to the Herd as a perfect example of how people act. Right now, Your mom is being the Bossy Mare in the pasture, you know how they act…Like Belle…But, I think you are wanting her to be the Herd Boss. They are quite, strong, powerful, trustworthy, protective, loving, but, in a heart beat they can take another horse down just by a glance. Being the Herd boss is a fluid position when it comes to parenting….so as you guys redefine your herd, know the roles change as you experience growth and change. This is all really good stuff, But, I have to go get my kids at lunch..Love u..Go Buccos

    • That is such a beautiful analogy! Horse analogies are always the best. They are also easy for me to understand. Hope you have been having a great weekend. Love you!

Leave a Reply

