Taste of Fall

It’s Fall, it’s Fall! I can’t believe it’s Fall! This summer has gone by so fast. I feel like it didn’t even happen. Fall is my favorite season. I love the smells and the colors associated with this season. Magnifico! Today was kind of a half sucky way to being the season though. I’ll get to that in a minute though. First I must share the idea I got last night for my snack. Pure genius. Pretzels, strawberries, and chocolate pudding. Probably the easiest thing ever, but when you use the pudding as a dip… whole new level. Image

This morning I tried to sleep in a little, but wasn’t very successful. We had a very easy breakfast, but just because something is easy doesn’t make it any less delicious. I had a bagel with butter, sugar, and cinnamon. Some mixed berries for my fruit and a glass of milk for a dairy bubble. ImageDo you ever try and plan out your meals for the week? My parents and I are trying to get better at planning and actually following through with what we decide on. We looked through a magazine for some recipe ideas. They were all Rachel Ray’s recipes. She sure has some good looking ones! Image

I headed out to the barn once we got our dinners figured out. I took him an apple since he hasn’t had one in a few days. This is where it turned into a bummer of a day. I knew as soon as I saw Vinnie that something was wrong. He was down in his pasture separated from the herd. I wasn’t shocked by that, but by the way he was standing. He was standing in the corner, and he wasn’t moving around like he normally would have been. And he wasn’t putting much weight on his front right leg. Wrong, wrong, wrong. When I got to him and started leading him to the barn he was extremely lame. I decided to take the short cut and cut through G’s pasture and stall instead of leading him the normal way. I couldn’t believe that he was lame again. AND ON A DIFFERENT HOOF. His front left was the one with the abscess. After inspecting his leg I didn’t feel any heat or swelling, so I examined his hoof and the sole. He seemed to be tender on his sole right above his frog. If he has another abscess I am just going to feel awful. The vet is coming back out on the 26th, so if he is still lame I am going to have her take a look. See how he is standing with his leg forward? He doesn’t normally do that. ImageHe was still able to stand on it when I had to wrap his other hoof, so that is good at least. And he still was willing to eat so that is another positive sign. I just hope it’s a little bruise or something that will go away in a day or two. I gave him some bute so hopefully that takes some of his pain away. I stuck several treats in my pocket to help motivate Vinnie to get back to his pasture. He will still do anything for treats. The only bad thing was that Mare could smell the treats on me and she was basically on top of me. And she was still begging when I was about to leave. Image I felt bad making Vinnie walk all the way back down to his pasture, but hopefully the bute kicked in and he was able to move around a little better once I left. Image

When I got home I found a spot to hang the beautiful butterfly garland Mary gave me for my birthday. ImageThat is just what I needed to try and bring my mood up after seeing Vinnie struggling. My mom and I talked while our lunch cooked in the oven. My mom decided to just bake one of the frozen thin crust pizzas from Costco for us to split. We also had some grapes and I had steamed broccoli as well. I failed to take a picture of it, which is a shame because it was a beautiful plate. After lunch my mom and I made the grocery list and then headed into Durham to go get the drill from school and then get our groceries. We went to Whole Foods and got the majority of the things we needed for the week. We also did a quick stop at Harris Teeter to get the few things we didn’t get at Whole Foods.

The drill and the sandpaper attachment did not work for me. Operator error probably. I decided to sand the walls and ceiling the old fashioned way. It worked out a lot better. I only got a little bit done because it takes a long time for me to try and make sure I do it just right. The ceiling is the easy part. All I have to do is lightly sand it to remove the remaining popcorn residue. The walls are difficult because it is hard to tell when I have sanded enough to remove the gloss from the paint. I wish I got more done, but I guess I have all the time to work on it. For snack I made myself a vanilla almond butter sandwich and then I had Hodgepodge Harvest trail mix with it. ImageI munched on that while I watched Netflix. When I finished Side Effects (the movie I started yesterday) I decided to jump in the shower and rinse all the ceiling and wall powder off. I was covered haha. After my shower I talked to my mom about everything. I have been consumed in my own thoughts today and she asked me what I was thinking about. I responded that I was thinking about Vinnie, Eating/Food, School, and my future. That’s typically all I ever think about. Anxiety was slowly creeping up. I was feeling uneasy and overwhelmed by dinner and with all of the meals we planned for the week just because they are heavier than what I am used to. I was beginning to shut down. I told my mom I didn’t want to talk but she said I needed to and it actually seemed to help me a little. I told her about my plan to look into NC State for school and the major/minor I am interested in pursuing. I told her I was feeling overwhelmed by food. I told her I was extremely saddened by Vinnie’s current state. She was able to talk me out of my funk and I helped her fix our first new dinner recipe from Rachel Ray. It felt like such a sophisticated meal because it had some seasonings and ingredients that we never use (fresh ginger and nutmeg), and it was just a beautiful combination of colors and the flavors were pretty much the definition of Fall food. What was this incredible meal you ask? Butternut and Parsley Penne. I. Love. Butternut. Squash. It just makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside. We grilled up some spicy Italian sausage to have with it. Yummmm! ImageI am now excited to try the rest of the recipes we have planned for the week! I am sure they will be just as good!

Now I am watching the Steelers game. It’s not looking pretty. That’s all I am going to say about that.

So besides Vinnie being lame again and my miniature anxiety episode about food, I would say that the first day of Fall was nice. It was a gorgeous day and I spent some nice time with my parents and we got our dinners planned for the week. I am feeling prepared to take on the busy week ahead! Tomorrow I am going to be up early to have practice and go to the barn to take care of Vinnie before I go into work from 10-4.

Questions for the day:

Do you plan out meals for the week?

What is your favorite thing about Fall?

2 thoughts on “Taste of Fall

  1. Maybe an electric hand sander would be easier for you to use to buff off that gloss. You can tell how you are doing by looking at the spot you sanded from an angle. If you look head on its difficult to tell. Not to get too goofy but perhaps your sanding can also be seen as a metaphor for your own life…all that you are going through is like your project. You know that the wall will be improved after you are done…same for you…but it takes time! (and hard work.) Why not take a Community college class to explore your interests and to get you thinking about something else other than you.

    • That is a great metaphor you made. What a nice way to put a new perspective on this. I will have to check out some classes that I could possibly take. Maybe I can find an online one or maybe figure out something I can become certified in by studying at home! Great comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

