Home Improvement and Kitchen Creations

Happy Saturday night! I had a very full day today, but I enjoyed it very much. Last night before bed I had a chocolate pudding with two of my nut butter balls. It was just a quick easy fix! I slept great but I still wake up earlier than I would like. Oh well, just more time for me to complete all of my tasks! This morning we whipped up a quick breakfast of eggs, toast, and bacon. I had two eggs scrambled with tomatoes and spinach. I made a sandwich using my toast and bacon. I called it the BEST sandwich… Bacon, Egg, Spinach, Tomato. And don’t forget the glass of orange juice! ImageImageImageThen it was time to get creative in the kitchen! I saw a recipe for Baklava Balls on Pinterest, and after looking at the ingredients and being totally comfortable with them (and realizing I had all of them!) I knew I just had to give them a try. Holy cow, are these things good! My parents concur. Here’s the recipe!

Baklava Balls (or as I call them, “Bak Balls”)

1/2 cup walnuts

1/2 cup pistachios, shelled

1 tablespoon butter, melted

2 tablespoons honey

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

lemon zest (about 1/4 teaspoon)

Add walnuts, pistachios, cinnamon, and lemon zest to food processor and mix until powdery but still a little chunky (does that make sense?) and then mix the butter, honey, and vanilla. Combine the wet and dry and then shape into balls (I made 12, but you could make them bigger or smaller). Let sit in fridge for an hour or two before chowing down. It might be hard to wait that long once you get a whiff of these babies!

After I made my Bak Balls I went out to the barn to see Vinnie. He was so well behaved today! He stood in basically one spot the entire time I was grooming him and wrapping his hoof. Ok, I might have exaggerated. He moved around a little, but whatevs. I will take each day I can get where he is calmer than dirt. Was that a weird comparison? It was just the first thing that popped into my head. And we all know once you think about something it’s hard to think about something else. Now I am just rambling and not making sense haha. Back to today! After the barn I decided to get started on my bathroom project! Here are a few pictures of what I have to work with. I already removed all the decorations and fixtures, besides the light fixture. ImageImageImageImageI started my little home improvement project by removing the popcorn celing. That stuff is awful! Again, I’m exaggerating. It’s not that bad, I am just not a big fan of the look of it. Or of the little pieces that sometimes fall. I removed it by spraying it with water using a spray bottle and then I used extreme amount of paper towels to wipe it off. It came off easily but it sure did make a mess! About halfway through I took a break to eat lunch. My mom heated up a pot roast we made a few nights ago and then wwe made sandwiches out of it. It was actually very good. Pot roast veggies have never been my favorite because to me all the flavors blend and everything just tastes the same. Anyone else agree? Anyone? I still ate it though because the uniform flavor was better than I expected. Top off the beef with some cheese and stick it under the broiler and you have yourself a great sandwich! I had mine with a yogurt. ImageAfter lunch I resumed my bathroom renovations. I finished removing the popcorn ceiling and then spent a good amount of time vacuuming everything off, including the ceiling. ImageI was covered in ceiling droppings. It looked like I was target practice for a flock of cruel, cruel birds haha. I was going to get started on sanding the walls with a sandpaper drill attachment thing that my dad got, but the drill is at my mom’s school. Boooo! I called it quits for the day and got showered. I then did a little reading before having my snack of Key Lime Crumble Chobani and a Bak Ball!!! ImageOnce I finished my snack my dad told me that Duke was playing Illinois at 6:30 and that was expected to be a really good game. So he and I decided to go watch the match. My mom chose to stay behind. The match was great! It went all the way to set 4 and all of the sets could have gone either way. But Duke managed to get the W tonight!ImageWhen we got home my mom had dinner all prepared. It was mexican night at the Crum house! I made my plate of rice, black beans, chicken and steak, peppers and onions, and a little bit of an avocado. So flavorful. The fajita seasoning we have is perfection! ImageNow it feels so good to finally have some time to relax! Even though it’s 11 already… there’s still a snack that I have to have before I can go to sleep. I have no idea what I am going to have. Maybe another Bak Ball? We will see! I am sure I will have another busy day tomorrow! I hope everyone has a great Sunday! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Home Improvement and Kitchen Creations

  1. Fajitas my most favorite. We ate mountain pies for dinner last night. Pizza and chicken biscuit. The boys thought it should have been snack not dinner. Haha

      • Fajitas my most favorite. We ate mountain pies for dinner last night. Pizza and chicken biscuit. The boys thought it should have been snack not dinner. Haha
        1 can of pillsbury biscuits and precooked chicken fillets and spray pam on the iron and stick in the coals of an outside fire.

  2. Pingback: I Felt My Heart Stop | crum on a plate

Leave a Reply

