Eventful Sunday

Last night after I was done blogging I put together my snack. I remember my cousin, Madelyne, telling me earlier this summer that she always makes ice cream cookie sandwiches, so I decided to give it a try with the cookies my mom got a Costco a few days ago. Look, Uncle Bill! Two cookies! Image

Today

Today was a full day. Breakfast feels like it was days ago. I woke up and made myself another big bowl of oatmeal topped with blueberry blaze trail mix along with a glass of milk and a glass of orange juice. ImageAfter breakfast I went out to see Vinnie. He was a little sore today when he had to pivot on his hoof with the abscess but other than that he looked like he was doing well. He came out of his betadine pad/duct tape boot so today I tried to make his duct tape boot a little more heavy duty. Then I gave him his carrots and he looked happy as could be. Happy Vinnie = happy Beth 🙂 ImageWhen I got back home I did a tiny bit of organizing in my room. I tackled my t-shirt drawer and made it so I can see all my shirts and it saved a crazy amount of room! Tomorrow I need to organize the rest of my room. I talked with my mom while I munched on my morning snack of raspberry beret trail mix and raspberry yogurt. ImageThen I got ready to go to Durham. My parents and I went to Durham Central Park for the Food Truck Rodeo! Foods trucks are so fun. It was SO hot and crowded though. The lines at some of the places were ridiculous! My parents and I got sausage baguettes from Baguettaboutit. I ordered the United Nations, my dad got the U Betcha and my mom got the meatball special. It was good,  but not out of this world. The Amish stuffed pretzel was way better. Sorry, I am going to obsess about those things forever. It was so much fun to go see all the different food trucks though! ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageI had so much fun! I wish it would have been a little cooler outside, then I might not have minded standing in a really long line to try something else. We headed home after we finished our baguettes. My mom and I then ran to Walmart to get a few things. We spent some time just browsing around, but we mostly stuck to our list. On the way home we stopped for gas and while my mom was pumping I got a very panicked phone call from Renee at the barn. She told me that one of her horses had colic. She said she couldn’t keep him off the ground and the vet wasn’t going to be there for a while. She asked if we were at home and I told her that we were on our way home from Roxboro but that we would go out to the barn right away to help her out. Renee was so hysteric and I felt so bad that she had to see her horse go through that. My mom and I stayed to help out in any way we could. It was so sad to see Rey all banged up from when he went down in the aisle of the barn and couldn’t get up. Luckily his symptoms seemed to diminish and the vet said that he would be fine but that Renee just had to keep an eye on him. I was so scared for her and I couldn’t imagine what it would be like if I saw Vinnie like that. It was pretty severe, but it could have been a lot worse. Hopefully none of us have to see a horse colic again. When we got home from the barn my dad had already stuck chicken in the oven for dinner. All I had for my afternoon snack was one of the bananas I got at Walmart. I was thrilled to hear that my dad was making chicken burritos that he crisped up in a skillet then under the broiler. We ate it with a side of black beans and my dad topped our burritos with fresh chopped peppers, onion, and tomato. He really knows what he is doing in the kitchen! ImageThen it was family movie time! Well this wasn’t really a “family movie” but we watched it as a family, so whatevs haha. It was called Frozen Ground and it had Nicholas Cage and John Cusack in it. It was based on real events and it was about a guy who raped and murdered many, many women in Alaska. It was a pretty good movie, but creepy that all of that actually happened.

It was a good day for the most part. I didn’t do the best job with filling out my bubbles on my meal plan, but tomorrow I will just have to make sure that I eat ’em all up! It’s snack time for me now. Have a great Labor Day!

One thought on “Eventful Sunday

  1. That’s a pretty good first attempt at a chipwich but the ice cream needs to reach the edges of the cookies. This way you can lick all the way around the sandwich!

Leave a Reply

