Perfect Beach Day :)

It was a great day for the beach! It was finally hot and sunny for the majority of the day. It was the first day here that actually felt like a summer day at the beach.

But let’s not get ahead of ourselves, I have to tell you about the rest of last night. For dinner I reheated some pasta and veggies and my mom baked a frozen broccoli and cheese stuffed chicken. The pasta wasn’t as good reheated, but it was still pretty darn tasty. And the chicken, oh my gosh, the chicken… I would definitely get that again. ImageImageAfter dinner we ended up staying at the RV to watch the Pirates game, so no karaoke for us. Not that we would have actually participated haha. I was about to fall asleep and then my dad told me I needed to have my snack. I tried something new that I got at Food Lion our first day here. Smartfood Selects brown sugar and cinnamon popcorn. I poured myself a bowl full and munched on it while I watched some tv. ImageIt was reallyyy good. I would have never thought to make that flavor combination for popcorn. I know that they have a buffalo cheddar flavor (I think that’s the flavor, if not it’s something along the lines of buffalo and cheese) that must be phenomenal because they were all gone off the shelves at food lion. So if you see ’em, grab them and give them a try and let me know how they are!

This Morning

This morning I woke up and went with my mom to get her morning coffee. I snapped a picture of their coffee menu because I thought it was really cute how they wrote it all out. It was really tempting to give coffee a try, but I knew I wouldn’t like it, even though all the flavors sounded fun.ImageWhen we got back from the coffee run it was time to fix breakfast. I was feeling some anxiety again. My uncle Bill made a great comment about a likely reason for my anxiety recently and I think he hit the nail right on the head. I think introducing sweets (such as ice cream) has kind of thrown me off a little. I feel like I have to restrict because I am anticipating an upcoming snack that I wouldn’t file as “healthy.” I realize that I can’t make these thoughts disappear, but his encouraging words told me that I have the power to dismiss those thoughts and do what I know is right. With that being said, I tried my hardest at breakfast. I went with my vanilla Kashi instant oatmeal again, with cinnamon and berries, but instead of a side of toast I topped my oatmeal with a little granola for some added crunch. ImageI think my favorite part about breakfast is just playing around with presentations to try and make it look attractive (is that a good adjective for food?) for the pictures. We were then off to the beach! I spent my time on the beach sun bathing, reading, and attempting the crossword puzzle with my dad. I say attempting because it was really challenging and we gave up after only getting like 5 words. I moved on to the sudoku puzzle after that fail.

Afternoon

Around 1:30 my dad and I headed back to the RV to make lunch and bring it back to the beach. My dad ended up eating his sandwich at the RV, but I packed my mom and I’s sandwiches along with apples and carrots. ImageMy sandwich was turkey, pepper jack cheese, spinach and mustard. I made my mom’s with turkey and ham, pepper jack, spinach and dijon mustard. My view on the beach: ImageLook at that blue sky! We spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing. We spotted dolphins a few times throughout the day. I always love it when I get to see dolphins! We eventually packed it in and I hit the showers before having my snack. My snack consisted of caramel rice crisps, cottage cheese and a few blueberries.ImageAfter my snack I worked a little on my bubble sheet for my food plan. I haven’t done it for a while, so I figured I should do it to see where I am at. It didn’t exactly motivate me because it was confusing about what to classify certain things as and if it was enough to count as a portion. I just need to work on it some more, but mentally I just don’t think I can handle it right now. I will start it back up when I get back home and things can be a little more predictable. I am hoping that will help me with the food plan at least.

Tonight I think we are going to Liza’s Pizza. We were originally going to grill up the fish we got a few days ago, but I think my parents were more in the mood to go out for dinner. I am going to try my best to live in the moment and enjoy the experience. I will have to take a breather a think about all of my motivators and all of the things I have talked about with my nutritionist. It is time for me to be brave and tackle pizza, A.K.A. one of the scariest foods on my list. I am wishing myself luck!

3 thoughts on “Perfect Beach Day :)

  1. I am anxiously awaiting word on your pizza experience and I leave you these words from Julien of Norwich one of the great Christian mystics…”all will be well, all will be well, in all manner of things all will be well.”

Leave a Reply

