End of the Homestand

Today would have been the perfect day for a lazy Sunday. All day overcast and a little drizzle this evening. I woke up and watched a little tv before getting started on breakfast. My mom and I made french toast (I put maple syrup on mine) and I had some blueberries and cherries on the side. ImageThose cherries were actually very good. I will be making another breakfast with them soon! Maybe I will try my uncle Bill’s cherry pancakes. After we finished eating we did some meal planning for the week. I will be working Tuesday and Thursday night so those will be up in the air for now. We made our shopping list and then we got ready to hit up Harris Teeter. This is what we got for the week: ImageOnce we put all the groceries away, I started baking my sweet food. I made a banana butterscotch cake. ImageI hope it turns out well. I am going to try a slice of it when I am finished typing up this blog 🙂 We then whipped up some lunch. We made grilled cheese in the panini maker. One slice of white cheddar, spinach, tomato, onion, and a laughing cow wedge. It tasted great with the fresh tomato slice! I had an acai vanilla protein drink with it, and I must say that this flavor was definitely a winner compared to the other flavors I have tried. ImageTime flew by and before I knew it I had to get ready to go to work. I planned on getting out to see Vinnie, but I ran out of time. My mom went out while I was at work, though. She said he was doing better, thank goodness! Before I got ready, I did have a few minutes to whip up an overnight oatmeal recipe that I am going to try tomorrow for breakfast! My uncle Bill made a suggestion about me planning a few breakfasts during the week, just because it is something I am going to have to start doing. What I have been doing is making a general list of a few breakfast ideas, but when morning would come I would still struggle with what to make. I think that if I plan a specific breakfast it might make it easier in the morning because I will have already decided on what to have. Although I don’t know if it will make it more difficult for when I have to be spontaneous if something comes along that changes the plan. It is definitely something I can play around with though. At work I had a vanilla greek yogurt and a banana for my snack while I was on break. It started raining in the middle of the 5th inning (just a steady sprinkle/drizzle) and there wasn’t a delay or anything, but the game still lasted 4 hours and 5 minutes! The final score was 14-13 Bulls. Such an insane game. I was so glad  when it was time to go home! We planned on having nachos for dinner, so I was looking forward to eating that. We used to make nachos all the time! It was one thing I put on my list that I made with Mary of “things to make with my family that we used to eat and prepare them how we used to.” My parents were so nice and waited for me to get home to eat dinner. I let them know when I was on my way home so they could go ahead and make the nachos. My dad made me my own plate of nachos.Image They were so good! It has been so long since I had homemade nachos. I am so proud of myself for eating all of them too! I have really made a lot of progress. I am starting to have much more trust with letting my parents prepare my food. I have increased my variety of food as well. I am now not so scared of breads and pastas. I have added in much more cheese than I have been comfortable with eating. And yes… I am working on adding in the sweets.

Tomorrow my dad and I are going to Boone so I can get the rest of my things out of my apartment. I also have to drop off the checkbook for the Athletic Training student association. I was going to be treasurer, but since I am not returning in the fall it would probably be a good idea for me to give that back, huh? It should be a good day. I will be happy to spend some time with my dad. I feel like we haven’t spent that much father-daughter time together lately. We both have just been busy with work and other things. (I think my mom just likes to hog me… hehehe). Well, I guess it is time for me to go give this cake a try. I have my necklace from Mary on, reminding me of all my motivators! I hope everyone had a great weekend!

4 thoughts on “End of the Homestand

  1. Love ur sweet. How did it taste. Good luck at Boone. I love my bracelet. Any chance i could order a yellow ribbon bracelet?

  2. Your dad has been making nachos since like college…ya gotta trust that! I believe I had his famous chicken nachos many a time! I could use some father daughter time too…I don’t think I’ve spent an evening with Madelyne in a month! Good luck with your planning and I love your UTZ (made in Pennsylvania) chips!!!

Leave a Reply

