Kerr Lake Adventure!

Happy Friday! Last night I didn’t get home until about 11:45. For snack I chose frozen yogurt and I had my mom scoop out an appropriate amount. At first I was very over taken by the size, but then I told myself if I ate it I would be closer to my goal. It was actually pretty good too. Ben and Jerry’s half baked froyo. Brownie and cookie dough goodness. Image

Adventure Time!

This morning when I woke up we did a few minutes of lounging around. We were trying to decide what to do today and my dad decided that we should just go for a drive and do some exploring. I made my breakfast to-go. I blended up some V8 Splash with ice and a few blueberries and made myself a favorite from my childhood: cinnamon toast. I put two slices of bread in the toaster and then spread a tiny bit of butter on them before sprinkling them with sugar and cinnamon. ImageWe ended up driving to my friend’s lake house at Kerr Lake in Clarksville, Virginia. It wasn’t that bad of a drive. It was a very spur of the moment thing. My friend, Heather (who also works at my dad’s office), was there with her family. Heather’s dad took us all out on a boat ride to show us the lake. It was fun to get out on the water! Very hot though! I was happy to get back in some AC. We stayed for a few minutes just chatting before we got back on the road. We checked out a campground that was on the lake and it looked to be a nice place to stay a night or two. Then we drove into town to find a place for lunch. ImageIt was a cute little downtown area. We spotted The Lake House and decided to give it a try for lunch. It was just an old house that they converted into a restaurant. So quaint and adorable! ImageI felt comfortable with the menu and I was so happy! One of the specials was a shrimp and avocado wrap. I have been craving avocado for a while, so as soon as I saw that I automatically knew that I was ordering it! My mom ordered potato skins for an appetizer. After skipping out on the appetizer last time, I wasn’t about to let that happen again. One thing Mary and I talked about was living in the moment and enjoying everything that others were enjoying. I took a few bites and it was so tasty! ImageI was so proud of myself for trying a few bites. That was a big step for me. I ordered fruit with my wrap, but I was not impressed with it. It seemed like it was just canned fruit and I have been spoiling myself with fresh fruit. My mom ordered an Italian panini and we split the panini and wrap. The panini was ham, salami, peppers, onions, mozzarella and dijon mustard on ciabatta. My wrap was seasoned shrimp (so tasty! want to recreate but have no idea where to even begin!) avocado, lettuce and I think some type of other sauce. Mmmmm, so good. ImageImage^My mom got fried okra as her side. Clarksville has a really cool Lake Festival going on tomorrow that looks like it would be a great family activity! I will have to ask Heather how it goes. I am so proud of the progress I have made when it comes to eating out. I have been making decisions faster and I have also been taking normal sized bites at a faster-than-snail speed. I am getting there! After that lunch and the combination of the heat, I was knocked out on the drive back home. Now I have to go pack my snack and dinner for another night at work! Hope everyone has a lovely start to the weekend!

4 thoughts on “Kerr Lake Adventure!

  1. Well I made pancakes with fresh bing cherries on top to start my Saturday…but now I have to clean the kitchen!

  2. Way to go with trying new things, that’s a big accomplishment. I don’t like okra but I would love to try that delicious fried okra your mom got!

  3. Sauteed up the bing cherries in some butter than added a little sugar. Tossed them on top of my pancakes and then some pure maple syrup for the ultimate delicious pancake!

Leave a Reply

