Day Off

Good afternoon! I hope everyone has been having a great Monday so far. I am ready for some good Monday night television! Daytime tv is torture haha.

Yesterday

Yesterday after breakfast my mom and I did some meal planning and got a grocery list together. Then we were off to Harris Teeter! We got everything on our list and of course some new things to try. When we got home I whipped up the ingredients for a V8 Splash Pound cake. It was super easy to make. All you have to do is follow the package directions for the pound cake mixture, but replace the water with 3/4 cup of V8 Splash Berry Blast. While that was cooking I ate my lunch. I zapped a sweet potato in the microwave then topped it with some leftover chili, a sprinkle of cheese, and a small dollop of plain greek yogurt. ImageImageChili always tastes sooo much better as leftovers! After lunch I got ready and then was off to work! I only brought a snack with me because I wanted to eat dinner when I got home. I could actually do that because the game started earlier because it was Sunday. For my snack I had an apple and a Kashi peanut butter and chocolate bar. The game went by pretty quickly and then the store had a mad rush when it was over! I was so happy to go home at a reasonable time. My parents were nice enough to wait for me to get home before eating dinner. My mom made a version of a three cheese mostaccioli bolognese, which is basically a meat sauce, ziti, three types of cheese, and some veggies (I think she used squash and spinach). It had really nice flavor to it, even though it got a little dry while they were waiting for me to get home. ImageWe watched My Life In Ruins, which is a fantastic movie! It is about a tour guide in Greece who is bad at her job, but then she gets a great group of tourists and becomes a great tour guide and she falls in love. Pretty much sums it up! But it is a seriously good movie. Quite funny. My dad and I quote it all the time. My snack was a Kind bar. I think this might be my favorite flavor! Image

Today’s Breakfast

This morning I woke up and my mom and I threw in all the ingredients into the crock pot for tonight’s dinner. It is a new recipe, so I will let you know if it turns out alright! Once we got everything mixed in the slow cooker, we started on breakfast. I threw some bread into the toaster and then when it was done I spread some almond butter on it and topped it with half a banana, sliced. Then, in a super fancy glass, I made a yogurt parfait. I put a layer of greek yogurt, then sliced strawberries and blueberries. I sprinkled some Kashi granola on top of the berries then repeated the layers! Such a beautiful, fresh breakfast 🙂 ImageSo yummy! Next I whipped up a glaze to put on the pound cake. The glaze consists of 1/4 cup confectioner’s sugar and 1-1/2 teaspoons V8 Splash. It looked so pretty and smelled amazingImageI sliced about half of it for my mom to give to Amber and Kate at her school. I hope that they like it! I haven’t tried it yet, but I plan on having a slice after dinner. I am feeling strong enough to do it!

I made a bracelet this morning while watching the cooking channel. Even though food scares me, I can’t get enough of watching the cooking channel or the food network. Strange, right? I love food, and yet I don’t let myself enjoy it. I’m changing that though! Back to the bracelet I made… I think it turned out well! I can’t wait to wear it.Image

Lunch and Maps Galore!

For lunch I heated up a bowl of leftover pasta from last night. Then I mixed in a small handful of spinach and let it nicely wilt. ImageI got a lovely surprise in the mail today. It was a very thoughtful card from my aunt and uncle. I think they know what motivates me, haha! ImageLove them to pieces! I then finished up my map wall! I still have some things I would like to do, like pinpoint places I have been and places I want to go. I think I would also like to add string to it, connecting city to city to represent the bigger travels I have been on. It can be my ongoing project because I can always add to it once I visit a new place. ImageIt’s a lot going on but I like it! I have been bored ever since I finished up putting all the maps up. Staying home all day by myself is not as enjoyable as it used to be. It is nice to have the day off of work though! I also have tomorrow and Wednesday off, so hopefully I can find a better way to occupy my time! Although, I did get a lot done today so I can’t complain. It’s about time for me to start thinking about a snack… I can do this!

2 thoughts on “Day Off

  1. Food scares you??? Daytime television scares me! I ate at a terrific place in Frederick MD on Sunday for brunch. It is called VOLT and you can check it out on the web. The chef and sous chef are going to be on Bravo TV on July 24th I believe as part of the MasterChef series. The food was amazing and the service was way over the top..like they explained each dish as they placed it before you..and the crumb sweeper was cool too so I had a nice clear place to eat my main course…maple french toast with bing cherries and some kind of marscapone sauce. Pricey and delicious!!

    Have to let that scary feeling stuff go..there is plenty of good food out there for those taste buds!!!!! Great photos too…and could you try to toast a piece of that V8 pound cake and report how it tastes?? Pound cake absolutely changes its flavor when toasted…melt a little butter on it too!

Leave a Reply

